Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Delivering a Gradually Increasing Voltage to a Lamp  (Read 2743 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi! I'm a beginner with Arduino programming, and right now, I'm working on a project for my AS-level physics class. We're trying to devise an experiment to see if a lamp filament will behave as an ohmic conductor if voltage is increased quickly enough so as to not allow temperature to rise by any significant amount.

We tried this initially by using a rheostat acting as a potentiometer, and just increasing voltage really quickly, but this yielded unsatisfactory results. Thus, we were asked to devise a digital approach, which I am trying to do via Arduino. I also wanted to use this as a kind of opportunity to show that when functioning as a digital PWM, the Arduino is very effective, as I'd like to try make use of one in our robotics team and the same teacher is rather reluctant.

The way that I felt would be the best to try out is to use PWM programming to gradually increase the voltage supplied to the lamp, and then cut off this voltage entirely, with a delay before the next cycle. In this delay, I though it would be a good idea to have an LED blink once, to warn us to start the data logger.

So far, I have a basic code, but I'm not sure if it would work? I don't have the components to test it at home, nor the expertise to spot any problems. So it would be great if anyone could offer suggestions on how to make it better/if it would work at all. smiley-grin

// Intended to deliver 5V to a lamp over a time period
// Written using the 'Fade In' tutorial as a reference

int voltOut = 7;    // Lamp connected to digital pin 7
int ledPin = 13;    // LED to pin 13

void setup()  {
}

void loop()  {

// fade in from min to max in increments of 1 point:
  for(int fadeValue = 0 ; fadeValue <= 255; fadeValue +=1) {
    // sets the value (range from 0(min) to 255(max)):
    analogWrite(voltOut, fadeValue);