Go Down

Topic: If/Else and Switch Issue (Read 67 times) previous topic - next topic

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Arduino, but not to programming in general, and I'm baffled by the results I'm getting with what should be a very simple program. 

My goal is to turn my Arduino One built in LED on and off.  I want the interval to be 2.5 seconds on, 2 seconds off for purposes of this example.

I started with this code:
Code: [Select]

int intLEDpin = 13;        //Specify LED to switch
boolean bPinLevel = true;  //Start with the LED on

void setup()
{
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode(intLEDpin,OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite (intLEDpin, bPinLevel);

if (bPinLevel = true)
  {
    delay (2500);
  }
  else
  {
    delay (2000);
  }

bPinLevel = !bPinLevel;
}

This resulted in the LED turning on for 2.5 seconds, then turning off permanently.

When I modified the if statement to:

if (bPinLevel = false)
  {
    delay (2000);
  }
  else
  {
    delay (2500);
  }

the LED turned on and stayed on.

I assumed maybe there was something strange about if statements that I didn't understand, so I decided to try using switch case instead

int intLEDpin = 13;           //Specify LED to switch
boolean bPinLevel = true;  //Start with the LED on

void setup()
{
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode(intLEDpin,OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  switch (bPinLevel)
  {
    case false:
      digitalWrite (intLEDpin, LOW);
      delay(2000);
    case true:
      digitalWrite (intLEDpin, HIGH);
      delay(2500);
  }
  bPinLevel = !bPinLevel;
}

The results of this should be a repeating pattern of 2.5 seconds ON, 2 seconds OFF.  It would enter loop() with bPinLevel = true, go to that case, turn the LED on, wait 2.5 seconds, exit the case, flip the bPinLevel to false, and start over.