Go Down

Topic: RaspberryPi Serial with Arduino Servo controll (Read 66 times) previous topic - next topic

TyroneR

Hello all,
I am new to arduino, and my problem is that I am trying to control two servos that are attached to my arduino with a raspberry pi through usb serial.
I am able to control one servo with no problem. This code works fine.

Code: [Select]

#include <Servo.h>

int pos =0;
void setup()
{
  myservo.attach(5);
  Serial.begin(115200)
}
 void loop()
 {
  if (Serial.available()>0){
    pos = Serial.read();
  }
  myservo.write(pos)
 }

Here I am trying to control two servos by sending a character through serial to one of the servos with a value to move a servo. I have been stuck on this for days and need some help.

#include <Servo.h>
Servo servoX;
Servo servoY;

void setup()
{
  myservo.attach(5);
  Serial.begin(115200)
}
 void loop()
 {
  if (Serial.available()>0){
   char ch = Serial.read();
  if (ch == 'X');
  else if (ch == 'Y') ;
  }
  servoX.write('X'); // move to value that is assigned to X from serial
  servoY.write('Y'); // move to value that is assigned to Y from serial
 }

AWOL

Jul 02, 2016, 04:58 pm Last Edit: Jul 02, 2016, 05:01 pm by AWOL
if (ch == 'X');
Oops

servoX.write('X');
Can't see the point of writing a constant value to a servo.
Did you mean to write the value of the variable "ch", or something mapped from it?
"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

TyroneR

TyroneR

From the raspberry pi I would send X(180) through the serial to the arduino. The arduino will then wait for a character and then read its value.

Robin2

Have a look at the examples in Serial Input Basics - simple reliable ways to receive data. Look especially at the 3rd example and the parse example.

You could send the data for the two servos like this "<123, 97>"

...R