Go Down

Topic: FHT noisy output (Read 92 times) previous topic - next topic

Oct 08, 2015, 08:44 pm Last Edit: Oct 09, 2015, 08:56 pm by Crocs
Hi everyone!
I am new to Arduino and am currently stuck.
I am trying to let an RGB LED light up according to the frequencys of a song.
I tried to do this by using a microphone to get the input to the arduino and process it there with FHT.
I am using an Arduino UNO with the FHT library from openmusiclabs.
My problem now is that the output of the FHT is very noisy. The code is the following:
Code: [Select]

#define LOG_OUT 1 // use the log output function
#define FHT_N 128 // set to 128 point fht
#include <FHT.h>

#define MIC_PIN   0

double prevVolts = 100.0;

void setup()

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop()
    for (int i = 0 ; i < FHT_N ; i++)   // save 256 samples
      int sample = analogRead(MIC_PIN);
      fht_input[i] = sample; // put real data into bins
    fht_window(); // window the data for better frequency response
    fht_reorder(); // reorder the data before doing the fht
    fht_run(); // process the data in the fht
    fht_mag_log(); // take the output of the fht
    for (int curBin = 0; curBin < FHT_N/2; ++curBin)
      if (curBin > 0)

The format of the output looks like that cause i used a program to visualize the output. I put a part of the output from the Serial screen in the attachment. (note that the room was really quiet when I was recording)
I also wanted to add a picture of the Microphone in the attachment but it couldnt upload it. But it basically works like that (at least that's what my teacher told me):
The first part with the microphone itself is just the mic with an amplifier. The second part is to lift the voltage of the audio signal to a positive level (Since a standart audio signal is postive and negative).
My question now is: How can i get a cleaner output that shows the actual frequencys? Or how do i get the actual "strongest" frequency?