Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduibo Mega 2560 with RN-41-SM Bluetooth  (Read 1116 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I am new to the Arduino world...
Recently, I got the mega 2560 and I am working on it for my graduation project.

Currently I am trying to interface the RN-41-SM bluetooth module with it. I am connecting it to TX1/RX1, 3.3 VCC and ground.
I am not sure about some stuff.
I am using header A since I did not know how to remove some resistors to switch to header B of the RN-41-SM.

What I have done so far is establishing the connection between the PC BT dongle and the RN-41-SM, and it created two different virtual com ports.

As far as I know, the virtual com ports make the bluetooth communication as if there is simply a wire instead. so I thought I would be easily able to communicate between the microcontroller and the PC through the bluetooth module; but apparently I have a problem in communication between the MC and the Bluetooth. I am not sure how to test if they are communicating or not.

Did any of you guys tried this or something similar before? I would REALLY appreciate any help!

Thanks in Advance =)

Dee Why NSW
View Profile

You wrote
but apparently I have a problem in communication between the MC and the Bluetooth. I am not sure how to test if they are communicating or not.

I have only yesterday succeeded in getting some joy with Bluetooth.

I am not familiar with yours but I assume it is similar and they all work much the same way.

It seems that there isn't much to do between the Arduino and the bluetooth module. It is either connected properly or it isn't, and you will be amazed how often the latter is the problem.  So check yours, twice.

There is no way of using the debug monitor to check that data is being sent via bluetooth. I understand Arduino doesn't distinguish between bluetooth and the serial monitor.