Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Code question stopping a program after an output is high for a period of time  (Read 214 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am new to programming my arduino and am looking for a little code help. I have looked through a bunch of examples but nothing seems to be similar to what I'm looking to do.  

I am building a auger system that will move material from one bin to another. I want to shut everything off if the first bin runs out of material so it doesn't just sit there and run for no reason. If I activate a switch the program should reset. Below is the code I'm currently running and my project works great.  I now need to add the code to stop the program.  This is also a safety feature so my auger motor doesn't run for too long and burn out.

Code:
    int sensorPin = 1;
    int Pin12 = 12;
    void setup(){
      Serial.begin(9600);
      pinMode(Pin12, OUTPUT);
      pinMode (sensorPin, INPUT); 
    }

void loop()
    {
      int val = analogRead(sensorPin);
      Serial.println(val);

if (analogRead(sensorPin)< 100)
    {
    digitalWrite(Pin12, HIGH);
    }
    if (analogRead(sensorPin)> 244)
    {
    digitalWrite(Pin12, LOW);
    }
    delay(1000);
    }

I would like to turn pin12 off if it has been on longer then 5 min and stay off until pin14 reads high. I would also like to read pin15 high if sensorPin >244 for longer then 6 min.  pin15 will activate a light that lets me know that the system is empty.  In the future I would like to use send a text or an email instead of just turning on a light but one thing at a time.  Thank you for any help you can provide.

Moderator edit: [code] [/code] tags added.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 10:15:25 pm by Coding Badly » Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Code:
    int Pin12 = 12;