Go Down

Topic: Problems trying to control Arduino with iPhone and Official Wifi Shield (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Hello All,

My first post here and my first Arduino, so still learning tons and may have overlooked some obvious things that will make this work. I also understand from reading / research etc. that there are still some potential issues with the official wifi shield. Anyways, here is what I am trying to do. Currently just trying to control a few LEDs wired to my Arduino with my iPhone, but ultimately would like to add a servo in to open a door lock. I'm not a complete newbie when it comes to writing code, but am not very familiar with C++. Ive read and googled and searched the forum for as much info as I could find on using the iPhone with an Arduino and wifi shield, but aside from lots of information on using it with a router and an ethernet shield, I have not found much. I tried to adapt my code from the "ardumote" app tutorial, and a another post i read on the subject. Everything compiles fine, and works well with serial control from my computer, but nothing at all from my iPhone. Code / info follows:

I am using an Arduino uno rev3 with an official (Arduino) wifi shield.
I have three 5mm LEDs connected through 300 ohm resistors on pins 5, 6 and 7.

Code: [Select]

byte mac[] = { 0x7A, 0xC4, 0x0E, 0x1C, 0xAA, 0xF3 };
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 140 };
#include <WiFi.h>
#include <WiFiClient.h>
#include <WiFiServer.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Servo.h>

char ssid[] = "Leah Wifi";     //  your network SSID (name)
char pass[] = "le725ahbak";    // your network password
int status = WL_IDLE_STATUS;     // the Wifi radio's status

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo
                // a maximum of eight servo objects can be created

int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position