return false;
            }

if (SP1.IsOpen)
            {
                System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(500);
                string data = SP1.ReadExisting();
                SP1.WriteLine(data);
                System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(500);

however i cannot receive the data from arduino through serial port into the c#..how the readexisting functions?does the writeline function enable the data to be write into the c#?sorry,im new in c# and arduino.hope all of u can help.

Not done any C# myself but I can't help but notice that no where do you specify the baud rate. You need to do that so look at the C# manure to tell you how to do it.

look at the C# manure

I have heard many terms for documentation before, but surely this is the most accurate.

arduino_learners: in addition to the baud rate you probably have to tell it which COM: port to use.

For what it's worth, there is a little C# info here in the Playground:
http://playground.arduino.cc/Interfacing/csharp

-br

i have initialized the serial port.

SP1 = new SerialPort("COM3" ,9600,Parity.None,8,StopBits.One);

Which Arduino are you using?

arduino uno r3 compatible.

This is what the first part of my connect button's callback code looks like:

private void connect_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
		{
			System.ComponentModel.IContainer components =
				new System.ComponentModel.Container();
			port = new System.IO.Ports.SerialPort(components);
			port.PortName = comPort.SelectedItem.ToString();
			port.BaudRate = Int32.Parse(baudRate.SelectedItem.ToString());
			port.DtrEnable = true;
			port.ReadTimeout = 5000;
			port.WriteTimeout = 500;
			port.Open();

The form has drop down lists for the com port and baud rate.

With this code, I'm able to send to/read from all the Arduinos I have (Mega, Leonardo, and Duemilanove).

(port is a global instance of the SerialPort class.)

so the coding for writeline and readline cannot read the data from arduino?