Go Down

Topic: Simulate Spacecraft GN&C Demo (Read 791 times) previous topic - next topic

JPS002

Jan 12, 2013, 06:36 pm Last Edit: Jan 12, 2013, 06:59 pm by JPS002 Reason: 1
First off I want to say hello!

I am just getting started with my first Arduino project so please ignore my ignorance :)

I am leading my senior design project which is comprised of 15 Mechanical, Aero, and Industrial and Systems Engineering undergrads (actually about 24 when you count our partner universities in SC and Paris France that report to us).  Unfortunately no EE's, and I myself am an ISE so after you crack the inevitable "Imaginary Engineer" jokes :) perhaps you could offer some insight as to the feasibility of my idea for an open house demonstration.

Our mission is to design a spacecraft capable of travelling to and performing science both in orbit and on the surface of Enceladus (a very intriguing moon of Saturn).  After the first semester I feel that the weakest subsystem on my team is Guidance Navigation and Control.  This is essentially used for attitude control of the spacecraft and controlling a soft lander upon descent.  Given our weakness, I figured that that jumping headfirst into some project with which I have NO experience would be a fantastic way to show our abilities!

What I would like to do is have a demo where I could hold a mock spacecraft with LED's where the GN&C thrusters would be located.  I would then like to be able to tilt the spacecraft and power LEDS to display how the thrusters would fire.  

I currently have an Arduino Uno R3 and a basic starter kit.  I have looked at some IMU's (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11055) and the like but have ZERO experience doing something like this.

Can you guys/gals help point me in the right direction?

Thanks so much!

robtillaart

Welcome in Arduino land,

Just thinking out loud,