Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Why i am killing my tip120 ?  (Read 1327 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I am new in electronics and encounter a problem with a tip120 transistor. I wire it this way:
http://floran.morel.free.fr/Divers/versys_bb.jpg

The problem is, the led is always ON, and when i am testing the transistor with a multimeter in diode mode, i find 0,5v between the collector and emmiter. So i kill it and i don't know why  smiley-cry

I need some help to understand where is my mistake.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 07:07:43 am by cheesepower » Logged

Miramar Beach, Florida
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 139
Posts: 5856
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I cannot find a datasheet on that TIP220 transistor. Can you post a link to it? Are you sure it is a TIP220 and not a TIPXXX in a TO-220 case?
 
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

My mistake, it is a TIP120 in a TO220 as you said smiley-wink

here is a ilnk to the datasheet:
http://www.produktinfo.conrad.com/datenblaetter/150000-174999/150872-da-01-en-Transistor_TIP_120.pdf
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It's a Darlington, Collector, Base Emitter.


- not a mosfet as your circuit would describe.

you're not blowing them, they work still no doubt, collect D3 of Arduino to the Base Pin (middle/2 pin), Emitter to GND, Collector to your LED's GND (short lead) and the Anode + side goes straight to your 5v rail.
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

But, add a 1 - 10k resistor on base or it could damage the arduino pin.
Logged

Miramar Beach, Florida
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 139
Posts: 5856
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Try connecting the wire connected to the Arduino D3 pin to ground instead of the Arduino pin. Does the LED still light?

@cjdelphi: That is not what the datasheet shows. Pin 1 is the base.

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

you're not blowing them, they work still no doubt, collect D3 of Arduino to the Base Pin (middle/2 pin), Emitter to GND, Collector to your LED's GND (short lead) and the Anode + side goes straight to your 5v rail.

According to the datasheet, the base pin is the pin 1, right ?
Logged

Miramar Beach, Florida
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 139
Posts: 5856
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Pin 1 is the base. Did you try the test?

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Pin 1 is the base. Did you try the test?


Yes, and the led is still light
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 07:33:28 am by cheesepower » Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ah yes sorry my bad, I looked at the Darlington first, then i went back to a similar datasheet i had open and looked, then i went back and realized.

take a look at the attachment....


* confusion.png (12.7 KB, 556x245 - viewed 32 times.)
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ah yes, my amazing circuit design skills smiley-grin
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

fair enough, so what resistors you using? to connect the transistor? i'd use a 1k for the base, and then 300 ohms to limit the LED current, also while you're at it, move it from 3v to 5v, it's possible if you're not
using a red led, it will be dimly lit, even less so with the voltage drop through the transistor.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 07:41:12 am by cjdelphi » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry but i don't understand your schematics  smiley-eek
Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 29
Posts: 2360
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

^^ so just swap to a 5v source and let us know the resistor values.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I put a 1K resistor between D3 and the base pin, also put a 200 ohms resistor for the led

Why do i need to change the voltage to 5v ?  3,3v is not correct ?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: