Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Mega USB stopped working... all of a sudden  (Read 1053 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
I have been running an Arduino Mega in a particular project for about 2 months with no problem whatsoever.  Recently, I added an additional function to the my program, whereby there is now a computer connected to the Arduino's USB port.  That computer is connected to a bar code scanner, and when a scan is received, it passes some info to the Arduino via USB.  So the Arduino is now checking the USB connection for data all the time.

After running the system, for 1 week non-stop, at about day 6, the Arduino USB/serial just flat out stopped working altogether. The Arduino could not be seen by the Arduino IDE, Device Manager, Hyperterminal, nothing.  The rest of the Arduino functions like analog and digital IO are still working fine.  I swapped in another Arduino Mega, and voila it can be seen by the computer again.  Swapping in the old Arduino again, and it is invisible to any computer... and I tried a few computers.

This happened quite suddenly. What could have caused such a problem?  I do not believe it could be code related, but attached are a few snippets of code.
Code:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);           //  debug and computer usb is on Serial0
  Serial3.begin(9600);          //  controls serial stepper motor drive

.... a bunch of other stuff
}

void loop()
{

catchTechTag();

... a bunch of other stuff

}

void catchTechTag()
{

if( Serial.available())
  {
    char ch = Serial.read();
    if( ch == '!')  // is this the terminating carriage return
    {
      buffer[ bufferIndex ] = 0; // terminate the string with a 0     
      bufferIndex = 0;  // reset the index ready for another string
      // do something with the string
      number = atoi(buffer);

if (number == 99)
      { 

if(lockoutTimer.isRunning())
        {
          lockoutTimer.stop();