Go Down

Topic: Ultrasonic sensor HC-SR04 delivers wrong distance (Read 411 times) previous topic - next topic

Stuff23

Hi together,

since this is my first post on the arduino forum I want to introduce myself. My name is Stefan, I am from Austria and I am a newbie in programming arduino. I have some experience in programming actually it is even my occupation but I work with Siemens Step7 which is a different story to arduino.

Now my problem: I have an ultrasonic sensor hc-sr04 but the data I get back is totally wrong . For example: The display shows 26,7cm but if I measure it manuallly I have 31cm.
Also it´s range seems to be wrong, according to the datasheet should be 2cm-4500cm, but if I try to point the sensor in direction of a wall, which is approximately 3000cm away, the numbers go crazy. I never see a stable value and also it want exceed about 1800cm.
I think the numbers for conversion are wrong but theese are the only ones  I could find according to my sensor.

Here is my sketch:
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);
int trigger = 7; //output trigger
int echo = 8; //input echo
long duration, cm, inches;
int cmdec, indec;
int cmconv = 59;     // ratio between pulse width and cm
int inchconv = 147;  // ratio between pulse width and inches
//the numbers 59 and 147 i got from the Internet not sure if
//they are right, the range of the sensor is 2cm-4500cm (1,2inch-177inch)
String s1, s2;

void setup()
  {
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
  pinMode(trigger, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(echo, INPUT);
  }

void loop()
{
  //pulses for the input Trigger
  digitalWrite(trigger, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);
  digitalWrite(trigger, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(10);
  digitalWrite(trigger, LOW);

duration = pulseIn(echo, HIGH); //read return echo pulse lenght

// convert the time into the distances
  cm = microsecondsToCentimeters(duration);