Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Sending Rapid / Persistant Commands to a PIN  (Read 348 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'm new to Arduino development and looking for general guidance and assistance.

I'm building a simple robot, which connects to an Arduino board for instructions, which is controlled by an Android/iOS device over WiFi.

I've opted for OSC over WiFi and I can send and receive messages from the Android device and Arduino board.

There are two types of commands I will be sending to the robot:

1 - Move for x seconds
2 - Speed (based on pressure/strength sent to a pin)

I'm planning on using the following approach:

1 - For Movement
Send a message of the following format
/[ANALOG][DIGITAL]/move/[PIN] [SECONDS]
2 - For Speed
/[ANALOG][DIGITAL]/setspeed/[PIN] [SPEED]
3 - Combined
/[ANALOG][DIGITAL]/directional/[PIN_ARRAY] [SPEED_ARRAY]
4 - For Direction Movement
/[ANALOG][DIGITAL]/directionmove/[PIN_ARRAY] [SECONDS]

where:
ANALOG = use analog signal (which I understand has a range of 0-1023)
DIGITAL = use digital signal (which I understand is either on/off, high/low)
PIN = the pin to signal (sent output to)
SECONDS = after x seconds stop output to the pin
SPEED = a value in the range 0 to 1023
PIN_ARRAY = an array of pins to send output to
SPEED_ARRAY = an array of analog values to use in conjunction with PIN_ARRAY
move = move instruction
setspeed = set the speed instruction
directional = set move/speed instruction
directionmove = move in direction for x seconds instruction

(NOTE: The range 0-1023 above is Analog range, this could also be PVM range 0-255)

I'm hoping this is enough to control the capabilities of the robot.

Areas of confusion:
1 - I'm guessing "input" from pins will always be Analog (although these pins can function as Digital input/output)
2 - Are "Output" pins always "Digital"? For instance pin 13 for the LED, I seem to only be able to set it to HGH/LOW