The opposite approach to over internet control of arduino

Please forgive me if this is a arduino networking noob question but I can't find an answer. I have a couple years experience with simple arduino projects but this is my first networking one. I find all kinds of examples of people controlling an arduino by hosting a website on the device itself, my question is can I host the site elsewhere and have the arduino monitor a mySQL database (or something similar) for changes. Why would I want to do this?.. I'm a web designer for a company that hosts its own sites. We have 5 static IPs. At home (where the arduino is) I don't have a static IP and I'd prefer not to use a service to mimic one. Thanks Guys.

Yes, and it's a far better way of doing things than putting "server" on an Arduino.

Basically What you need is an application on your PC/real server which will talk to the Arduino over the coms port/Ethernet/WiFi or what ever. I can't see why you would want an Arduino to Monitor an R-DB.

Mark

I didn't know there was a way to send information to the arduino without it having a static IP. The idea was a website with a simple interface that would change the values of a database then whenever the arduino queried the DB it would turn on a light or adjust the thermostat. (Yes this is another home automation project) If I can send an arduino a command directly that's perfect. How would I do that. If it changes your answer, I am talking about an arduino with an Ethernet shield connected to a router not an arduino connected to a computer.

I found the answer... I've been looking for four days and finally found something I can build off of. Thank you for your guidance it helped me find my answer. Anyone else looking for the method for the same approach I found it here... http://bildr.org/2011/06/arduino-ethernet-client/