Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Ardweeny Programming Failure - Strange Problem  (Read 1239 times)
British Columbia, Canada
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'm relatively new to electronics, but not to computers or troubleshooting.

I have an Ardweeny, as well as an Ardweeny Multipack.  I run Vista-32 and have a CP2102 USB-FTDI connector.  It's a B75937, and the manufacturer's website (sadly in Chinese) is here:  http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.1.28-2539457881.1.DPBQHO&id=9667883527  I installed the drivers, and assume they work fine, as it shows up as COM4, and I shorted the TXD and RXD pins, and a loop-back test worked normally.

When trying to upload a test sketch (blink), it does not work.  Error code avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

I had Arduino Uno selected.  Manufactuer (www.solarbotics.com) suggested I select Arduino Duemilanove with ATMega328 for compatibility but it still did not work.  Manufacturer suggested I connect RST on B75937 to DTR on Ardweeny.  No go.  I noticed there was a through-hole connector on the B75937 that says DTR.  I soldered a connector to the DTR on the B75937, and connected that DTR to the Ardweeny DTR, and I got some progress.  Now, when I go to the "tools" menu, or try to upload a sketch, the LED on the Ardweeny flickers, so I assume things are working correctly now.  Yet still, I get the same error code no matter what I do, even though loop-back tests on D0 & D1 work.  (I used the procedure I found here: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,73748.0.html)

I am not sure what I'm missing, as there is nothing else I can find on google or these forums that seems to help my problem.  Please help.

British Columbia, Canada
View Profile

WELL WELL, after much hair pulling and troubleshooting and experimenting, I got it to work!!!!!!

I'll let everyone what's going on, because other people using the B75937 USB to FTDI will need to know this.  (this is valuable information)