Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 40x4 + LiquidCrystal440 missing character  (Read 845 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey, I just received my Arduino Uno today in the mail. I decided my first project would be getting an old 40x4 LCD running.
I'm new to this, so I'm sorry if this is a nooby question.

So after a lot of searching i worked out how to wire it up, and get it working with the LiquidCrystal440 libraries.
It works great except the coordinate (0,0) does not display on the screen

Eg.
Using the following code;
Code:
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 10, 11, 13, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup() {
  lcd.begin(40, 4);
    lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  lcd.print("hello, world!");
    lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
    lcd.setCursor(0, 2);
    lcd.setCursor(0, 3);
}

void loop() {
}

The screen outputs :
ello, world!
hello, world!
hello, world!
hello, world!

Also the last character of the first line (40,0) does not display
So it appears of the whole top line has shifted to the left one column

Anyone know what the deal is?
Thanks

[Edit]
Even if i lcd.setCursor(10, 0) before the first print, i get the same "ello" , same position
« Last Edit: November 09, 2011, 05:24:04 am by MarcelG » Logged

Western New York, USA
Faraday Member
View Profile

It's more likely to be a problem with your LCD than with the library.  I typically have people try printing 80 characters to the screen using the following sketch.  You will have to modify it if you want to check out the lower two lines on your 160 character display.  To do this you have to run the 'for' loop twice in order to always use the 80 displayable ASCII characters from 47 to 127.

void setup()
  {
    lcd.begin(20, 4);
    for (int i=47; i<127; i++)                 // send 80 consecutive displayable characters to the LCD
    {
    lcd.print(i,BYTE);
    delay(100);                                // this delay allows you to observe the addressing sequence
    }
  }
void loop()
  { 
  }

Don

Minnesota USA