Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Nes controller, Please Help!  (Read 7492 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

How have you wired it up? A very clear photo would help answer that.
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What happens if you press buttons on the controller, or move things? Getting zero seems to say to me nothing is pressed.
Logged


Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 67
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What happens if you press buttons on the controller, or move things? Getting zero seems to say to me nothing is pressed.

even if i press something i still get nothing. just "0"
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I honestly can't tell from that if you followed the instructable or not. Let's hope.
Logged


Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 67
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I honestly can't tell from that if you followed the instructable or not. Let's hope.

what do you mean?.
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The pictures have stopped displaying. I suggest you upload them as an attachment. Click on "Additional Options" below the post to do so.
Logged


Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 67
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The pictures have stopped displaying. I suggest you upload them as an attachment. Click on "Additional Options" below the post to do so.


* IMAG0667.jpg (54.84 KB, 640x384 - viewed 27 times.)

* IMAG0668.jpg (107.91 KB, 640x384 - viewed 29 times.)

* IMAG0669.jpg (98.18 KB, 640x384 - viewed 27 times.)
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 67
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i cleaned it up a bit, it should be easier to see


* IMAG0671.jpg (95.51 KB, 640x384 - viewed 26 times.)

* IMAG0670.jpg (121.11 KB, 640x384 - viewed 26 times.)
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well judging by this that I found after Googling you may not have the wires right:



You have Gnd (brown) going to pin 4.
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Although this says differently:



Quote
Now that you understand the pins on the Nintendo controller, hook up your jumper wires by using arrow’s colors from the photo above. (Note: The pins are fairly deep, be sure that your wires are deep enough and snug to insure a strong connection)
As for the other ends of the wires, place the RED wire from +5V on the Nintendo controller to 5V on the Arduino. Place the BLACK wire from GROUND on the NES controller to GROUND on the Arduino. Pretty straight forward.
Place the ORANGE wire from STROBE on the NES controller to Digital Pin 2 on the Arduino.
Place the WHITE wire from CLOCK on the NES controller to Digital Pin 3 on the Arduino.
Place the YELLOW wire from DATA on the NES controller to Digital Pin 4 on the Arduino.
NES Wired
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

All I am saying is, try to be absolutely certain you have the wiring right.
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Do you remember which colour went into which pin on the plug? Or do you have another one to compare to?
Logged


Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 67
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i feel stupid, i accidently switched the yellow and brown, its working now, but when i run processing and open up notepad, i get nothing

« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 04:25:23 pm by Craftee » Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Glad that's working.

I'm no Processing expert, someone else will have to help you with that part.
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 499
Posts: 19071
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

By the way, on the Leonardo, you need to wait for Serial to become available:

Code:
void setup()
  {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (! Serial ) { }  // <------- add this

Logged


Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8   Go Up
Jump to: