Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Hardware required for Project involving stepper motors among other things  (Read 215 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So i am planning on getting an arduino mega to run 2 24V stepper motors (bi-polar, 200 steps per rev - dont know what that means exactly)

Step angle is 1.8 degree
2 phases
1.2 A per phase
Dc resistance 13.5 Ohm +/- 10%
inductance per phase 6.4 mH  +/- 10%
max temp rise of 80*C

On a similar setup (that i am reverse engineering) there is a RAMPS 1.4 RepRap Mega Pololu A4988 extend shield and 3 A4988 w/ Heat sinks [this was running 3 12V stepper motors]

I will be looking to hook up some other items, but im not sure what type of shield i'd need, i will need to wire in my 24V power source, and i'm still new to arduino so any information is helpful information!

Thanks!

Faraday Member
View Profile

Step angle is 1.8 degree 
(bi-polar, 200 steps per rev - dont know what that means exactly) 
How many degrees in a revolution ?
Answer: 360
How many steps per revolution is a motor with a 1.8 degree step angle ?
360/1.8=200
Stepper motors are either bipolar, requiring two power sources or a switchable polarity power source, or unipolar, requiring only one power source. 

http://mechatronics.mech.northwestern.edu/design_ref/actuators/stepper_intro.html

2 phases   

On a similar setup (that i am reverse engineering) there is a RAMPS 1.4 RepRap Mega Pololu A4988 extend shield and 3 A4988 w/ Heat sinks [this was running 3 12V stepper motors]

I will be looking to hook up some other items, but im not sure what type of shield i'd need, i will need to wire in my 24V power source, and i'm still new to arduino so any information is helpful information! 

I don't see any question marks anywhere . Is there a question in here somewhere ?

Arduino UNOs, Pro-Minis, ATMega328, ATtiny85, LCDs, MCP4162, keypads,
DS18B20s,74c922,nRF24L01, RS232, SD card, RC fixed wing, quadcopter

View Profile