Go Down

Topic: RE: A new beginner with ideas (Read 645 times) previous topic - next topic

rossq

May 15, 2017, 11:39 pm Last Edit: May 15, 2017, 11:46 pm by rossq
Hello everyone.

I need some help with a project that I have in mind. I have some idea of what parts I will need for this project.

Here are the details for the project.

I like to add a power switch to a HDD which is controlled by an audino. As to what governs the switch, I am thinking that the arduino listens for a specific program that is running on my windows system. When that program is running it will switch the HDD on, and when the program is no longer running. The arduino will then power off.

Here are my questions

1. What arduino will be best suited for this application?
2. What parts and items will I need to accomplish this project?
3. Where can I find coding that can program the arduino to do this? (I have knowledge about logic gates already, but as for anything else I have little experience in programing)

I would also like to be able to turn a drive on/off by time and day,

Thanks for your help and support in advance.

Grumpy_Mike

the arduino listens for a specific program that is running on my windows system.
Unless the program is designed to do something that specifically talks to the Arduino down a serial port then there is nothing the Arduino can "listen to".

Wawa

Are you sure you want to mess with that.
Is this to lower power usage or to try to make the drive last longer.
Windows has user configurable drive sleep settings. External drives also have programmed sleep settings.
Note that mechanical drives not only have a limited amount of running hours, but also a limited number of start/stops.
Maybe better to invest in a Solid State Drive.
Leo..

Robin2

When that program is running it will switch the HDD on, and when the program is no longer running. The arduino will then power off.