Go Down

Topic: Using a Photocell threshold to start a sequence (Read 53 times) previous topic - next topic

samuraismm

Hello,

I am new to Arduino usage and delved right in to help a friend with a project.  However I am having difficulty trying to get a sequence correct.

IDEA:  set of 2 LEDs will fade in and out constantly and when a light is introduced to a photocell a sequence of randomly placed LEDs will fade/blink.  Once light is removed from the sensor it reverts back to a constant glow from the original two LEDs

WHERE I STAND CURRENTLY: I have gotten the coding to have the LEDs fade in and out easily just by changing a few pin names and the delay.  I have managed to get the LEDs to stop when light is introduced to the system but I cannot figure out how to get it to start a new sequence once this happens.  What I have so far is below:

const int ledGaps = 3;
const int lightSensor = 0;
const int ledShapeA = 5;
const int ledShapeB = 2;
const int sensorThreshold = 200;

int fadeAmount = 5;
int sensorValue = 0;
int sensorMAX = 1023;
int sensorMIN = 0;
int glowBright = 0;
int shapeBright = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(ledGaps, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledShapeA, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledShapeB, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(lightSensor, INPUT);
}

void loop() {

sensorValue = analogRead(lightSensor);
  Serial.print("Digital reading = ");
  Serial.println(sensorValue);

{analogWrite(ledGaps, glowBright);

glowBright = glowBright + fadeAmount;

if (glowBright == 0 || glowBright == 255) {
    fadeAmount = -fadeAmount ;
  }
  delay(60);
  }
  if(sensorValue > sensorThreshold) {
    digitalWrite(ledShapeB, HIGH);
    delay(400);
    digitalWrite(ledShapeB, LOW);
    delay(500);
  }
}