Go Down

Topic: Limited analog inputs (multiplexing?) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

michou

I have a project with which I want to use a graphical display (based on the KS0108 and the GLCD library) to be able to display multiple information. The problem is that I need multiple analog inputs (at least 2) and the KS0108 requires 5 analog inputs to function and the Arduino Uno only has 6.

Time is not critical so I could use only one analog input but sample analog values from that input in a round-robin fashion, maybe using a multiplexer and some digital outputs.

Does anybody has an example of doing such a thing? Although I am an electrical engineer, I haven't done electronics since almost 20 years and I need some help.

Thank you.

Grumpy_Mike

johnwasser

I think that the easiest solution might be to use an Arduino Mega in place of the UNO.  That will give you a lot more pins to work with, including 16 analog inputs.
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

michou

michou

johnwasser I forgot to mention that the Arduino Mega was not an option. Thanks for the reply though.

CrossRoads

Or go with an external DAC, like microchip MCP3208, 8 channel 12-bit DAC with easy to use SPI interface.
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en/integrated-circuits-ics/data-acquisition-analog-to-digital-converters-adc/2556291?k=mcp3208
Lot cheaper than buying a whole Mega just for analog ports.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

dc42

Two suggestions: