Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Limited analog inputs (multiplexing?)  (Read 912 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a project with which I want to use a graphical display (based on the KS0108 and the GLCD library) to be able to display multiple information. The problem is that I need multiple analog inputs (at least 2) and the KS0108 requires 5 analog inputs to function and the Arduino Uno only has 6.

Time is not critical so I could use only one analog input but sample analog values from that input in a round-robin fashion, maybe using a multiplexer and some digital outputs.

Does anybody has an example of doing such a thing? Although I am an electrical engineer, I haven't done electronics since almost 20 years and I need some help.

Thank you.

Manchester (England England)
Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

Yes I did the multiplexing bit in this project:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/MIDI_Footsteps.html

Massachusetts, USA
Tesla Member
View Profile

I think that the easiest solution might be to use an Arduino Mega in place of the UNO.  That will give you a lot more pins to work with, including 16 analog inputs.

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

View Profile

Thanks Grumpy_Mike

View Profile

johnwasser I forgot to mention that the Arduino Mega was not an option. Thanks for the reply though.

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile

Or go with an external DAC, like microchip MCP3208, 8 channel 12-bit DAC with easy to use SPI interface.
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en/integrated-circuits-ics/data-acquisition-analog-to-digital-converters-adc/2556291?k=mcp3208
Lot cheaper than buying a whole Mega just for analog ports.