Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Porting Arduino Hexapod (Phoenix) robot code to run on DUE  (Read 1405 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am new to using the DUE and SAMS in general so please forgive me if some of these questions have been answered before.  I do have a reasonable amount of experience on several other platforms including Arduinos including Megas and Pic32s (Chipkit Max32/Uno32), Renesas H8, Propeller...

I recently purchased a DUE and modified the design of a shield I did earlier for the Arduino Megas to hopefully properly handle 3.3vs.  Yesterday I finished assembling one of the boards (minus a few parts I was missing).  You can see a picture of the shield in the DUE below.

Now I am in the process of trying to modify my Arduino port of the Phoenix Hexapod code to run on the DUE. So far on the board I have been able to verify that I can get sound from the speaker and my LEDS blink and I have done a little testing that I can output to some of the IO pins and it appears like I can use I2C to talk to the EEPROM on the board...

Some things I have run into so far.  Some I have found solutions to include:

1) Way to conditional compile for DUE.  So far I am using
Code:
#if defined(__SAM3X8E__)
or
Code:
#ifdef __SAM3X8E__

2) Having issues with IO pin usage differences.  On other platforms this works to toggle the LED:
Code:
digitalWrite(13, !digitalRead(13));
So far it looks like Reading the current state of a IO pin set to output does not work the same.  Suggestions on how to do this?  Obviously I can keep an external variable with the state and toggle it and use it to do the digital write.