Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Android+Arduino=Ultimate dash (I hope)  (Read 79 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So looking for some input here as currently I have no experience with arduino but am very keen to learn if it will suit my needs.
I have been reading up in multiple places about people using arduino to measure temperatures and pressure in vehicle applications and believe it could be the answer to alot of my needs.

I have a 4wd vehicle that is in need of an update of its instrumentation so here is what I am currently thinking, would really like to know how feasible it is or what changes may be required to make it more feasible.

Basically I would like to construct an arduino unit to take the place of multiple gauges using an lcd display  would also like a light to come on and buzzer to sound when temperatures or pressures  are outside a pre defined limit.

Some gauges I have currently thought of that it could replicate
Oil Temp, Water Temp, Transfer Case Temp, Front Diff Temp, Rear Diff Temp, Cylinder Head Temp, Pyrometer(EGT) Temp, Low Coolant Level, Vacuum/Boost of turbo, Oil Pressure, Volts, Fuel Level, Boost controler, Battery Isolator/Duel battery setup

I currently have a great app on my phone called hema maps which I use for gps mainly when off road and plan on imstalling a 7" tablet in my dash for this purpose so if its possible to make arduino output to that it would be great or would I need to install a second monitor for such a purpose.

Looking for input from others for this as currently I have no experience but think I should buy a starter kit and start exploring unless others have a better solution for me.

Melbourne. Australia
Edison Member
Freelance software and hardware development based in Melbourne Australia
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It should be do-able