Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: attiny bootloader not compiling  (Read 531 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 76
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am trying to get a simple blink sketch to work on the attiny85 to make sure that the ISP and everything is working properly
Here's the reference i'm using for the wiring:
http://hlt.media.mit.edu/?p=1229

I am using an UNO.
I uploaded the arduinoISP code attached in this message that was provided by Coding Badly
I selected the Attiny85 @ 8Mhz

When i tried to burn the bootloader, this is the error message that popped up. 

Code:
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -pattiny85 -cstk500v1 -P/dev/tty.usbmodemfd131 -b19200 -e -Uefuse:w:0xFF:m -Uhfuse:w:0xD7:m -Ulfuse:w:0xE2:m

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 18:52:52
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/Users/Darcyneal/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

         Using Port                    : /dev/tty.usbmodemfd131
         Using Programmer              : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 19200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv: . [15]
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x15

avrdude done.  Thank you.

any idea what's going wrong?  thank you

* ArduinoISPmodifiedbyCodingBadly.ino (12.1 KB - downloaded 6 times.)
Logged

Southern California
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 5
Posts: 539
I like blinky lights
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

1. Open Arduino IDE. Open File | Examples | ArduinoISP.
2. Upload this sketch to you Uno.
3. Click Tools | Programmer | Arduino as ISP
4. Change board type in Tools |  Board | ATTiny85 (internal 8 Mhz clock)
5. Click Tools | Burn Bootloader
6. You can now upload your code through the Uno via File | Upload using Programmer

If you're already doing all of this, confirm your connections from the Uno to the ATTiny85:

1. +5V on Uno to VCC on chip
2. Ground on Uno to ground on chip
3. Pin 10 on Uno to pin 1 on ATTiny85 (reset)
4. Pin 11 on Uno to pin 5 on ATTiny85 (MOSI)
5. Pin 12 on Uno to pin 6 on ATTiny85 (MISO)
6. Pin 13 on Uno to pin 7 on ATTIny85 (SCK)

Good luck!
Logged

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/magagna <-- My last name.  Pretty apt.

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 208
Posts: 12936
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

1. Open Arduino IDE. Open File | Examples | ArduinoISP.

The version that comes with the IDE does not always work on Linux / Mac computers (the /Applications/Arduino.app directory is a good indication that @Drc3p0 has a Mac).

Code:
avrdude: Recv: . [15]
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x15

Huh.  That's a symptom I've never seen.  @Drc3p0, you sure have a knack for getting entangled with strange problems.

I suspect the Uno bootloader is responding instead of the ArduinoISP sketch.  Make certain...

• The disable-auto-reset capacitor is put in place after uploading the modified ArduinoISP sketch

• The disable-auto-reset capacitor is making good electrical contact if, like me, you connect it directly to your Uno
Logged

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1073
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Drc3p0
I just tried the ISP  sketch you provided, and got the same error.
I am using Windows Vista, and Arduino 1.01

I tried the blink sketch

Code:
Binary sketch size: 756 bytes (of a 8.192 byte maximum)
D:\arduino-1.01\arduino-1.0.1-windows (1)\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CD:\arduino-1.01\arduino-1.0.1-windows (1)\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -pattiny85 -cstk500v1 -P\\.\COM3 -b19200 -Uflash:w:C:\Users\EC\AppData\Local\Temp\build8922342308274663574.tmp\Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "D:\arduino-1.01\arduino-1.0.1-windows (1)\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM3
         Using Programmer              : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 19200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv: . [15]
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x15

avrdude done.  Thank you.

Logged

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1073
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Next option was to try this modified ISP

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,108797.msg824488.html#msg824488   reply #39.

It worked without errors, so I believe there is an error in your ISP sketch, or shouldn't it work on a MAC ?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2013, 09:08:21 am by Erni » Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 208
Posts: 12936
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

...or shouldn't it work on a MAC ?

It's an earlier attempt to get past a Linux / Mac related bug in ArduinoISP.  The sketch in reply #39 is the latest (and apparently more successful) attempt.

Some details about the first attempt...
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,88649.msg673678.html#msg673678
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 76
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had instituted this file change based off of previous instructions.  Not sure if it could contribute to the issue at hand...  I am using arduino Uno version 1.0
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,116674.msg881917.html#msg881917

The following is how to apply the fix for MacOSX. This is based of AVR crosspack 20090319.

Extract ld.zip. This should give you a single extensionless file "ld".

Right-Click on Arduino.app
Click "Show Package Contents"
Due to MacOSx inability to merge folders, you will have to navigate to the correct folder yourself:
/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/avr/bin/

Copy and replace "ld" with the version from the zip archive.

The zip is attached to this post.
(Known to work on:
-Snow Leopard
- Mountain Lion
for other versions, please let me know if it works ok)
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 12:45:23 am by Drc3p0 » Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 208
Posts: 12936
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


That takes care of the linker problem.

Instead of the ArduinoISP sketch you are currently using, try the one @Erni suggested in his post...
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,108797.msg824488.html#msg824488   reply #39.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: