Go Down

Topic: Arduino UNO r3 - ATMEGA328P-PU flashing bootloader (Read 2792 times) previous topic - next topic

xcottos

Hi all,

I'm new to Arduino microcontrollers and last week I bought an Arduino UNO r3 with an ATMEGA328P-PU processor.

I was able to create a simple circuit (with the related sketch) with a button and a LED that turns on.

What I would like to do is using it as an HID keyboard sending characters to the computer depending on buttons pressed.

I followed the instructions in mitchtech.net/arduino-usb-hid-keyboard/ and the first problem I encountered was that dfu-programmer (I'm using linux) didn't work for my processor; anyway I was able to flash the bootloader (Arduino-keyboard-0.3.hex) with avrdude using the following command:

avrdude -p m328p -P /dev/ttyACM0 -c arduino -U flash:w:Arduino-keyboard-0.3.hex -v

the output of the command seems nice

avrdude: Version 5.11.1, compiled on Oct 30 2011 at 10:37:28
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is "/etc/avrdude.conf"
         User configuration file is "/root/.avrduderc"
         User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

Using Port                    : /dev/ttyACM0
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         AVR Part                      : ATMEGA328P
         Chip Erase delay              : 9000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PC2
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3