Go Down

Topic: Help needed with Input Capture Regester (Read 231 times) previous topic - next topic

AlaaNoah

I am new to the Arduino and I love the way i can use it  when i know how to useit. but for now i need a help with my project please.

I'm working on project that can read 16 bit High resolution PWM in very high speed (10 or 20   microsecond) for for 5 millis second all the time and to be able to intercept the signal, at that speed and send a different 16 bit command . ("this project is for controlling a small cart brake")
i did some research on how to do that, most the result direct me to using ICR register,to read the signal. and use timer 1 or 3,4,and 5 to generate the signal command

I also try to find any thread that might can help me with the project but i couldn't understand cleare how is it done.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,72092.0.html
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=408078.0
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=40748.0

I'm using mage board and not sure how to start the code since i don't have a lot of experience in coding generally can you please help me and proved me a simple code or something i can use.

For now I'm generating the signal from the Waveform generator.
1k hz
50% duty cycle
3 Vpp

Thanks in advance

Jiggy-Ninja

I'm working on project that can read 16 bit High resolution PWM in very high speed (10 or 20   microsecond) for for 5 millis second all the time
Usually, signal speeds are measured in hertz, not seconds. What is 10 or 20 microseconds? The resolution? minimum high time? Period?

What is 5 milliseconds?

You're on the right track with using the input capture peripheral, but there are many things to be considered that are missing from your post. Please provide an answer to all the following questions:

1) What is the minimum and maximum frequency that you expect to read?
2) How much resolution? can you accept degraded resolution at higher frequencies?