Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: How to attach software serial to a library  (Read 1178 times)
Central MN, USA
Tesla Member
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks! Weird though, because I only get an error when I try to do that with the softserial. The regular serial doesn't complain.

But that suggestion worked...

So back to trying to figure out how to redirect the output. I am hoping for an example somewhere...

Which IDE version are you using? I wrote that post for 1.0 and things may have been changed. I'll check the core code and provide an update.

Central MN, USA
Tesla Member
View Profile

I am just beginning, so I could go either way. But I plan to use class based for the simplicity of using it. I have written only one library so far and I started with a "close-enough" example and modified it heavily. It was for a custom 3 wire interface to an IC. I modified a softwareTWI library for that (3rd pin was just chip select.)

So, that is the extent of my experience so far. Doing anything advanced, I would need to see some examples because I am not familiar with what the code looks like.

Let's see your code.

UK
Shannon Member
-
View Profile

Personally I prefer the class-based approach, since it results in a cleaner isolation IMO.