Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: Room control  (Read 4070 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you use remote sockets you must on the device first from switch device permantly and control from remote socket....

That is what I don't want, I want the switch to function independently too.
Logged

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You can connect ... double cables one for remote control and one for manual switch....two switches parallels...
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 11:39:34 am by antkan » Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You can connect inside device double cables one for remote control and one for manual switch....two switch parallels...

But then if I turn the switch off and the remote switch is on the lights will not turn off.
Logged

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok....switch off and from your system for off...device.Work as OR gate... smiley-wink
Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok....switch off and from you system for off....device.Work as OR gate... smiley-wink

What if I loose the remote? smiley-razz
I just want them to work independently, draythomp pointed me to this. Any better(easy) way to do this?
Logged

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Why loose? Work as OR gate you do not loose the remote function....
Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 10
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Why loose? Work as OR gate you do not loose the remote function....

OR gate?
Logged

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OR gate mean if a=on and b=off the device is on
                    if a=off and b=on the device is on
                    if a=off and b=off the device is off
                    if a=on and b=on the device is on

a,b is your switches parallels...remote and not remote...
Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Tasmania - Australia
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 16
Posts: 310
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, let me try if I can get some understanding here on what you are wanting to do.

Firstly, ask yourself, do you really need to use an Arduino to turn a lamp or fan on?
Is there some fancy reason you need to use a computer to light a lamp?

If you are very sure that there is, then I will talk about the lamp for the example, and would like for you to read and accurately confirm each question.

1. To confirm, you have a lamp which is existing and is wired in as a normal house lamp on mains AC system, with switch on the wall?
2. You wish to control this lamp by two means, one is using the existing wall switch, and secondly, by an output from the Arduino?
3. The control is to be independent, whether from the wall switch or the control output of the Arduino?

4. To make the necessary changes to the existing wiring, you will most likely need to have access to the wiring at either the switch or the lamp, can you?

5. Next question is, at the existing wall switch, is there both the un-switched active and the neutral mains wires available?
6. If not, is it available at the location of the lamp?
If the answer is no to both of these questions, then I believe you will have difficulty doing this at all, and you would be advised to look into some form of smart switch possibly with inbuilt remote control circuitry that you can have the Arduino link into. (This would be my preference anyhow).

If you do have un-switched mains available then the next question,
7. Again, to make necessary changes to allow the additional control of the lamp you may need to install a small box with a certain amount of electronic circuitry in the wiring circuit between the switch and the lamp, possibly in the wall near the switch or near the lamp, is this possible, is there room enough to do this?

Only if you can meet the requirements of the above questions and not only for the lamp, but the fan you mention as well, only then is it feasible to discuss some methods on how to do this.

Quote
antkan wrote:
Why loose? Work as OR gate you do not loose the remote function....

'Antkan', you misunderstand niner, he does not mean loose the function of the remote, he means what happens if he misplaces the remote control unit, or the dog eats it. 'Antkan', I know you are keen and excited, especially with your own projects and you are trying in your own way to help, but I notice you are just adding more confusion to the topic.

Paul
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 09:30:34 am by rockwallaby » Logged


New River, Arizona
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 19
Posts: 936
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote

Maybe, I wasn't clear.  The link you show WILL work.  Well, if the board actually works as advertised, it will

Quote
Yes! This is exactly what I meant. Is there another way to achieve this? Maybe with relays?

Actually there is.  You disconnect the lamp from the switch, use a relay to control the lamp instead.  Then, you control the relay with the switch using DC.  It's easy to tell if the DC is there for the relay by sampling it.  Actually, there's a special kin of relay called a latching relay.  If you were to control the light with a latching relay, a pulse from the switch, or a pulse from the arduino could cause it to activate.  You might have to switch the kind of wall switch you have though.  Lady Ada did a demonstration of this kind of thing in a video at:

http://www.adafruit.com/blog/2009/04/21/using-xbees-to-control-relays/

She uses XBees, but an arduino will work.  Think a bit about how you might install something like this though.  Hiding the circuitry could be a annoying.
Logged

Trying to keep my house under control http://www.desert-home.com/

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

When i say parallels two switches i mean connect parallels to hot line both switches.Maybe remote control socket ac have manual switch....
A good link for switches AC is http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Switch
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 11:40:35 am by antkan » Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 2
Posts: 175
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I create a full universal remote control application to control all your IR signal devices (TV,HI-Fi,BLU-RAY,A/C,Remote Lights,...) from android with this https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=power.remote.control for small home room automation.Android send bluetooth signal to arduino with bluetooth shield and arduino with IR led send IR signals to IR devices inside your room.You must decode IR signals from your device.For example i had decode my A/C Toyotomi and create a library IR pulses Toyotomi.Also you can control and arduino with connected relays or you can add remote control sockets or Xbee with relays and control lights,coffee maker,....robots,rc car,ip camera....This is my simple sketch for receive the bluetooth signals...http://www.power7.net/apk_file/Blue_Remote_Control_V1_0.pde
Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 03:44:51 am by power7net » Logged

Web / sms / bluetooth / arduino / android remote control. Home Automation projects.
http://www.power7.net

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
Jump to: