Go Down

Topic: Question about powering the arduino and relay (Read 531 times) previous topic - next topic

paimpozhil

Hi All

I am new to electronics and arduino and to this forum as well.

Sorry if i am posting in the wrong category.

I have a SOLAR pv setup in my house and I am trying to switch off/on my inverter's grid input based on the time and /pv voltage calculations via the Arduino.

Thats a long story why I need to do this with the inverter ., I plan to use the same Arduino to monitor the battery as well as incoming solar power,etc in near future.

I am currently using 1 AC-DC power adapter 12V/2A for powering my arduino ., and then another 12V 500mV power adapter for energizing the relay coil, .

This is a 15A/230V relay that i purchased locally and does not really have any datasheets so I dont know whats the minimum current required to energize this coil.

Should I keep running it with 2 seperate power adapters or can i use the same adapter to power both the arduino and this relay?

Sorry if this question is dumb, I just wanted to be careful..

greywolf271

Feb 12, 2013, 12:36 am Last Edit: Feb 12, 2013, 01:49 am by greywolf271 Reason: 1
I had to look at some data for a similarly rated relay recently. Now this might not be gospel, but 70mA to energize the relay I had to replace was more than sufficient.
So to answer your question, just using the Arduino related wallwart would be enough.
You say you're new to electronics, so I hope you understand that the switching terminals on the relay need to be wired in the correct sense that when no power is applied to the relay, the grid input is switched off too.

UPDATE:
forgot to mention that you should add some decoupling to the relay coil to reduce switching spikes

dc42