Go Down

Topic: Sensor for sound frequency detection (Read 154 times) previous topic - next topic

sperr0w

May 27, 2015, 09:07 am Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 10:08 am by sperr0w
Hello!

I'm new in Arduino and I have some question.

I need to create sound frequency meter, but I dont know how to start.

Actially my theme s connected to http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=13906.0

I find info that sensor KY-038 exists, that have microphone and analog and digital output.
AO, analog output, real-time output voltage signal of the microphone
DO, when the sound intensity reaches a certain threshold, the output high and low signal

Is it possible to get scalar sound frequency from this sensor ( like 200Hz, 240Hz). I need to determine sound frequency only in interval between 150 and 350 Hz.

If it is not possible to get sound frequency data from KY-038, tell me please, what sensor do I need to buy?

I also find sound recognition module, may be I need to use it instead of KY-038?

Please, give me some start point?

sperr0w

I find also Audio analyzer from DFRobot based on MSGEQ7. May be I can use it to get frequency?

DrDiettrich

I don't think that you can get a filter module matching your needs. Build your own frequency counter if you want to measure/distinguish exact frequencies,

sperr0w

Y just want my module to show me frequency of sound, that go to the sensor. I expected that this is a trivial task...

DrDiettrich

Y just want my module to show me frequency of sound, that go to the sensor. I expected that this is a trivial task...
It isn't trivial at all :-(

SurferTim

If you are not against using an external device, you might want to take a look at the LM567 tone decoder.
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm567c.pdf
It will provide a digital lock signal and an analog offset from center frequency, so it will require two pins, one digital and one analog.

sperr0w

Thanks, it seems that this is a step in right direction.