Go Down

Topic: Using Electret Mic to Identify Frequencies  (Read 51 times) previous topic - next topic

Amanuella

Hi All,

I don't know if this question has been asked/answered before, but I'm new to Arduino and I have a few questions.

I have an Arduino Uno and Arduino Micro and I would like to use an Electret Microphone Breakout Board to identify if a sound is within some specified frequency range. I don't want  the frequencies to be displayed on a screen, but I do want the Arduino to execute certain commands if the sound is of the desired frequency(for testing, I'd use an LED). Is this possible? I can't use a large external circuit and I am working with limited supplies. Some instruction, schematics and perhaps some sample code would be super helpful.

Cheers!

AWOL

Can you give any idea of the frequency you're interested in?
"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

Amanuella

I'm mostly interested in the frequencies within the normal human audible range. I'm still not exactly sure which frequency/ frequency range yet.

DVDdoug

The "obvious" answer is FFT.  (Technically, it's called DFT in the digital domain.)  

Or if you are looking for one (or a few) specific frequency bands, you can use DSP bandpass filters, which are easier than FFT.  

There is an FFT library (I've never used it) so you don't have to start from scratch, but DSP (Digital Signal Processing) is not simple.  There is a FREE online DSP book, but it's not specific to the Arduino -  The Scientist and Engineer's Guide to Digital Signal Processing,  by Steven W. Smith, Ph.D..

The Arduino isn't a super-powerful processor and I don't know what kind of FFT limitations you'll run into, but people have made audio spectrum analyzers.