Total Newbie - Presentation - Pinball Dream

Hi, I'm Tore from Sweden. I'm so new I haven't even yet recieved the two Arduinos I just ordered.
I have done some C programming, played around with some 74LSxx IC:s, and repaired some old EM pinball games.
I'm totally self-made, so my knowledge is very patchy; I've picked up some here and some there but there are lots of huge gaps.
First of all, of course I have to recieve the two boards, an Uno and a Mega, and then learn the basics.

But my real goal is to restore as much functionality as possible in an old early solid state pinball machine. It's odd and interesting because it's made in Spain. Also, it's quite uncomplicated, with only 21 switches at the playfield:

Unfortunately, it means there are hardly any spare parts available, and the CPU board is damaged beyond repair, of course by a previous owner, not me. :slight_smile: I lack the knowledge to build a new CPU board, with data bus and strobe and such terms I have a very diffuse, schematic idea of how it should be made. So I go for the second best, what I believe could be feasable. Using one, two, or three Arduinos together with some TTL curcuits to restore as much functionality as possible, one feature at the time. I guess the most difficult part will be to somehow count the score. But that will probably be the last feature I add - but at the same time always try to keep scoring points in mind while working with the other stuff. I'm anything but a Purist; I can even think of a PC standing next to the pinball machine, and maybe through a serial connention keeping the score. The game is a 4 player machine, but I may settle for only 1 player capability.

Another issue I'm expecting trouble from, is false triggering from the powerful solenoids. But I think I'll be able to handle that issue, don't know how yet though.