Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino 1.0.3 - Arduino Uno and ATTiny85 problems (video included)  (Read 3291 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi there! I'm having some troubles with my attiny85 and arduino uno. I'm using this for the attiny85 core http://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/

I've already uploaded the Arduino ISP sketch to the arduino Uno with no problems. After doing that the Board is defined as Attiny85 internal 8 MHz clock, programmer is Arduino as ISP.

The blink sketch is loaded and the led port is defined as 1. On the attiny the led is connected to port 0. (I'm doing this because the led was blinking when uploading the sketch and I needed to know if it was the sketch running or some boot stuff -> it was boot stuff).

Now I tested the sketch upload with 2 methods:
1) Just connecting arduino uno and pressing Upload sketch button
2) Connecting arduino uno, holding reset and just when "Binary sketch..." shows in the console I let the reset go.

The two methods return different errors (at least in the video but i'm trying to reproduce it right now with no success).

Code:
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.



I've tried a lot of things, I've read a lot of tutorials but I can't solve this problem.. Help?

EDIT: verbose output, http://pastebin.com/uNbjAZDe
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 11:51:55 am by andrepcg » Logged

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 37
Posts: 1091
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

As far as I could see, you miss a connection from Arduino pin 10 to Attiny reset
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

As far as I could see, you miss a connection from Arduino pin 10 to Attiny reset

true. retried it right now and the error is the same:

Code:
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.

I've enabled verbose output, http://pastebin.com/uNbjAZDe
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 11:51:37 am by andrepcg » Logged

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 37
Posts: 1091
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
1) Just connecting arduino uno and pressing Upload sketch button

Try File->Upload using programmer

http://www.ernstc.dk/arduino/attiny85.html
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
1) Just connecting arduino uno and pressing Upload sketch button

Try File->Upload using programmer

http://www.ernstc.dk/arduino/attiny85.html

same error..
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 211
Posts: 13042
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Wiring.  One or more connections is wrong.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset



I've checked the wiring a lot of times and I don't see anything wrong..

EDIT: if you look at the capacitor you can see the stripe on the left side meaning the capacitor is reversed but it's only an illusion from the light and the negative side of the capacitor is connected to the ground
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 02:42:31 pm by andrepcg » Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 211
Posts: 13042
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Do all the wires conduct electricity?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Do all the wires conduct electricity?


I'm getting these values while the arduino is connected to the usb port (so everything is standby, i'm not uploading the sketch):
  • attiny is getting 4.97V (pin 3 in attiny)
  • pin 13 is outputting 0.07V (connected to pin 2)
  • pin 12 is outputting 0.0V (connected to pin 1)
  • pin 11 is outputting 0.0V (connected to pin 0)
  • pin 10 is peaking 4.35V (reset pin)
  • the capacitor is charged

this being an attiny85v, has anything to do with it? i guess not but idk..
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 03:01:16 pm by andrepcg » Logged

Croatia
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 13
Posts: 514
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had some trouble with the capacitor not connecting properly when plugged directly in the headers of the board. Moving it to the breadboard solved the problem.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had some trouble with the capacitor not connecting properly when plugged directly in the headers of the board. Moving it to the breadboard solved the problem.

yep, already did that with no success. the measurements I took in the last post were with the capacitor on the breadboard.

looking at the avrdude output, what can you say about this? (http://pastebin.com/uNbjAZDe)

Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 211
Posts: 13042
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

1) Just connecting arduino uno and pressing Upload sketch button

Correct.

Quote
2) Connecting arduino uno, holding reset and just when "Binary sketch..." shows in the console I let the reset go.

Incorrect.  Stop doing that.

Quote
The two methods return different errors (at least in the video but i'm trying to reproduce it right now with no success).

You only posted one error message...

Code:
avrdude: Yikes!  Invalid device signature.
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.

That error goes with #1 or #2?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 21
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

if you watch the video I have the error there.

but that error is happening with situation #1, I stopped doing the 2nd
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 211
Posts: 13042
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


There are two possibilities... 1. Wiring; 2. Clocking

If you have never successfully changed the fuses (done by "Burn Bootloader") then it cannot be #2.
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 211
Posts: 13042
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Do not cross-post.  I deleted your other topic.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: