Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: No Mac serial port choices. Only Bluetooth. Sad I can't use my Arduino Uno.  (Read 4976 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No relevant serial ports are listed in Tools > Serial Port > .
Only listed ports are /dev/tty.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync, /dev/cu.Bluetooth-PDA-Sync, /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem, /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Modem.
Tried all of them. Always the same orange in arduino console. "processing.app.SerialException: Serial port '/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem' already in use. Try quiting any programs that may be using it."

or if no bluetooth port is selected: "processing.app.SerialNotFoundException: Serial port 'COM1' not found. Did you select the right one from the Tools > Serial Port menu?"
Using Snow Leopard 10.6.8 on MacBook Pro, all software up to date via software update.

The Uno worked on my PPC G5 for the past year. The "solution" to "just use the G5" is no longer an option.
Never had a "Network detected" dialog when plugging in Arduino Uno on Snow Leopard 10.6.8 on MacBook Pro.
Changed out 4 different USB cords, all tested in working order. All USB ports directly on the computer were tried.
When connected the Uno green "ON" LED is on and "L" LED is flashing most likely due to "Blinking Light" (File > Examples > Basic > Blink) example currently running and was uploaded from the PPC G5.

Tried IDE's arduino-1.0.1, arduino-1.0.2, arduino-1.0.3, arduino-1.5.2b.
Tossed out /Users/user1/Library/Arduino/preferences.txt and /Users/user1/Library/Preferences/cc.arduino.Arduino.plist
Tried IDE's arduino-1.0.1, arduino-1.0.2, arduino-1.0.3, arduino-1.5.2b.
Tried restarting the IDE with the board connected to the computer and also connecting before IDE start.

All firewalls were off. Went thru the Activity Monitor and force quit anything that might hold USB ports, example Image capture. They do start right back up.
Tried this http://www.cmiyc.com/blog/2012/10/08/arduino-fixing-serial-port-in-use/
ls -l /var/lock
sudo mkdir /var/lock
sudo chmod 777 /var/lock

Opened "Get Info", tried "Open using Rosetta", liberated the user permissions.

Uno R3 version .0001 purchased from Sparkfun.com 12-2011. Stock UNO, no modifications, nothing connected but the USB cord.
Pointless but I installed the FTDI drivers.
The Uno is selected in Tools > Board

Uninstalled my usrobotics 56K USB Modem model 5637 from network preferences.
I have turned off bluetooth in System Preferences. Tried all the above. I have turned on bluetooth in System Preferences. Tried all the above.

From USB menu on "System Profiler"
Communication Device:

  Product ID:   0x0043
  Vendor ID:   0x2341
  Version:    0.01
  Serial Number:   64935343533351801222
  Speed:   Up to 12 Mb/sec
  Manufacturer:   Arduino (www.arduino.cc)
  Location ID:   0x3d100000 / 2
  Current Available (mA):   500
  Current Required (mA):   Unknown (Device has not been configured)
 
I've scoured the troubleshooting forums and http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload, and googled and googled and googled. I really appreciate the input but no one has a solution. Like so many other Mac users on 10.6 to 10.7 with the loss of serial port choices, I'm disappointed that I can't use my Arduino. Perhaps an option would be to use a bluetooth/wifi interface but I feel for now I've lost the faith.

Serial Monitor Output:
processing.app.SerialException: Serial port '/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem' already in use. Try quiting any programs that may be using it.
   at processing.app.Serial.<init>(Serial.java:171)
   at processing.app.Serial.<init>(Serial.java:92)
   at processing.app.SerialMonitor.openSerialPort(SerialMonitor.java:207)
   at processing.app.Editor.handleSerial(Editor.java:2481)
   at processing.app.Editor$17.actionPerformed(Editor.java:665)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2028)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2351)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:387)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:242)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(AbstractButton.java:389)
   at com.apple.laf.ScreenMenuItem.actionPerformed(ScreenMenuItem.java:95)
   at java.awt.MenuItem.processActionEvent(MenuItem.java:650)
   at java.awt.MenuItem.processEvent(MenuItem.java:609)
   at java.awt.MenuComponent.dispatchEventImpl(MenuComponent.java:343)
   at java.awt.MenuComponent.dispatchEvent(MenuComponent.java:331)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:713)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$400(EventQueue.java:82)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:669)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:667)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
   at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:98)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:683)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:681)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:87)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:680)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:296)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:211)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:196)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:188)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:122)
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 485
Posts: 18771
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11329
Like so many other Mac users on 10.6 to 10.7 with the loss of serial port choices, I'm disappointed that I can't use my Arduino. Perhaps an option would be to use a bluetooth/wifi interface but I feel for now I've lost the faith.

I've got OS/X 10.7.5 and my Arduinos appear correctly. In this screenshot I have a couple plugged in, plus a couple of FTDI cables:



This is how it appears in the System Profile:



I don't know what to suggest, though. Reboot? Check for OS updates?
Logged


Austin, TX
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 71
Posts: 6144
Baldengineer
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Always the same orange in arduino console. "processing.app.SerialException: Serial port '/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem' already in use. Try quiting any programs that may be using it."
The Bluetooth port is part of your Mac and has nothing to do with the Arduino.  The default for the IDE is to pick something.  However, you'll never communicate with your Arduino this way.


All firewalls were off. Went thru the Activity Monitor and force quit anything that might hold USB ports, example Image capture. They do start right back up.
Tried this http://www.cmiyc.com/blog/2012/10/08/arduino-fixing-serial-port-in-use/
ls -l /var/lock
sudo mkdir /var/lock
sudo chmod 777 /var/lock
While I'm glad you found that, the problem is completely unrelated.  Something is preventing your serial port to be properly enumerated.  The "already in use" is because the IDE is trying to use a port unrelated to the Arduino.

 
Perhaps an option would be to use a bluetooth/wifi interface but I feel for now I've lost the faith.
You can't program the chip over WiFi and Bluetooth is problematic since it doesn't usually do auto reset.

The problem is your Mac isn't assigning a serial port to the Arduino.


Are you connecting the Arduino though a USB Hub?  (Keyboards count as a Hub).
Logged

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Rome, Italy
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 20
Posts: 442
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

As already noted this is an OS problem. The port should appear (only when the Arduino is physically connected) as a pair of files /dev/tty.usbmodemXYZ and /dev/cu.usbmodemXYZ. The IDE gets its list of available ports from the OS.

There are utilities that may help your diagnosis, perhaps the standard Utility->Console will show some meaningful error message when you connect the Arduino. USB Prober is a dedicated tool available from the Mac developer site, and you may find downloadable copies around. I'm saying this because *apparently* some people solved their "device not recognized" problems just by running a low-level usb analyzer (???). I would also get rid of the FTDI drivers, just in case.

I run OSX 10.6.8 on a MBPro and have the same Vendor/Product/Version IDs, never had similar problems so far.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for the input! You guys got me thinking, I have my laptop setup with 2 partitions, I use the work partition all the time and I use the maintenance partition for running disk utilities and such on the work partition. The maintenance partition only has the default and software updated 10.6.8 with some additional maintenance utilities installed. So I booted to the maintenance partition, installed IDE Arduino 1.0.3, plugged in the Uno board and viola, the new Network device Detected dialog popped up. I uploaded some tests and the Uno works fine & dandy. But all my stuff is on my work partition so this setup would suck. I rebooted back to the work partition, as per your suggestion checked the console messages after plugging in the board:

2/26/13 8:01:57 AM   com.apple.kextd[10]   Can't load /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleUSBCDC.kext - no code for running kernel's architecture.
2/26/13 8:01:57 AM   com.apple.kextd[10]   Failed to load /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleUSBCDC.kext - (libkern/kext) requested architecture/executable not found.
2/26/13 8:01:57 AM   com.apple.kextd[10]   Load com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDC failed; removing personalities.

Interesting differences between my work partition and my maintenance partition of file '/System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleUSBCDC.kext'
My work partition
Kind: Kernel Extension (PowerPC)
Size: 356 KB on disk
Created: Saturday, August 1, 2009 12:52 AM
Modified: Saturday, August 1, 2009 12:52 AM
Version: 3.1.5, USB CDC driver

My maintenance partition of the same System extension file but from a clean install of 10.6.8:
Kind: Kernel Extension (Intel)
Size: 123 KB on disk
Created: Saturday, August 1, 2009 12:52 AM
Modified: Saturday, August 1, 2009 12:52 AM
Version: 4.0.5, USB CDC driver

Some strange differences. I copied '/System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext' from the maintenance partition to the desktop of my work partition.
1st I duped then replaced the direct problem "/System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleUSBCDC.kext" with the same file from the maintenance partition. No go, nada, Nothing. No "new network interface Detected" dialog.

Then figured I'll replace the whole dang extension:
08:31:51 PM Tue Feb 26, 2013:/System/Library/Extensions user1 }
  • <===o sudo mv IOUSBFamily.kext/ IOUSBFamily.kext.ORIGINAL/
08:32:36 PM Tue Feb 26, 2013:/System/Library/Extensions user1 }
  • <===o sudo cp -r '/Users/user1/Desktop/IOUSBFamily.kext from user2 - 10.6.8/IOUSBFamily.kext' .

The board was still plugged in and BOOM! there was the "new network interface Detected" dialog. Hit Network Preferences, then Apply, booted up the IDE, Tools > Serial Port and I am good to go! Thanks!!!
Just hope I didn't break something else.
USB Drivers that I recall installing. I'm sure there were others.
USRobotics zoom modem
Logitech mouse drivers
Logged

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 71
Posts: 6144
Baldengineer
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nice job troubleshooting the issue.  Glad you got it to work.
Logged

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had the same problem of no Mac port to choose for the MEGA 2560. (MAC OSX, 10.8.5 )

SOLUTION:
1) Fired the Arduino 1.0.5 , Connected the Arduino to a USB port

1) I went to tools/BOARD and choose (don't ask me the rationale) another BOARD model  which has the choice of
serial ports

2) went to tools/SerialPorts and selected /dev/tty.usbmodem621

3) went back to tools/BOARD and selected the right one (i.e., MEGA 2560). 

Everything is working…

Don't ask me why….

 
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have the same problem, the MacBook Pro does not recognise any port for Arduino Uno R3.
the arduino is for controlling a CNC machine, and the Atmega chip is "burned" with hex(grlb) file.
tried connecting in windows (VMware) and no connection also. installed the ftdi drivers and still nothing works, don't know how to instal the USBprobe.
really not an expert on this matter, just want make this work.
anyone can help me with a simple solution  smiley
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: