Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Photosensor controlled servo programming help?  (Read 1103 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'm an artist who is not too great at programming, I would really appreciate your advice.
 I'm just trying to make a continuous rotation servo go when the light shines bright on a photocell, and turn off when the light is dim.  I tried this program below which I googled:

What it does with a continuous rotation servo is make it go forward when the light is dim, and go backwards when the light is bright.  I've been following lady adas tutorials on photosensors and have an idea of the range I'm wanting to target: it should be 700 to 1023 when the servo rotates.  Anything dimmer than that it should just be off.

Code:
#include <Servo.h>      // include the servo library

Servo servoMotor;       // creates an instance of the servo object to control a servo

int analogPin = 0;      // the analog pin that the sensor is on
 int analogValue = 0;    // the value returned from the analog sensor

int servoPin = 9;       // Control pin for servo motor. As of Arduino 0017, can be any pin

void setup() {
   servoMotor.attach(servoPin);  // attaches the servo on pin 2 to the servo object
 }

void loop()
 {
   analogValue = analogRead(analogPin);                 // read the analog input (value between 0 and 1023)
   analogValue = map(analogValue, 0, 1023, 0, 179);     // map the analog value (0 - 1023) to the angle of the servo (0 - 179)
   servoMotor.write(analogValue);                       // write the new mapped analog value to set the position of the servo
   delay(15);                                           // waits for the servo to get there
 }

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

I'm just trying to make a continuous rotation servo go when the light shines bright on a photocell, and turn off when the light is dim.