Go Down

Topic: Powering 1/2hp dc motor (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

uler3161

I have a 1/2 hp 12vdc motor on a piece of equipment. I don't have the motor specs in front of me, but a web search suggests it is a 1700 rpm motor that uses between 10 and 60 amps.

Currently it has speed control in one direction, but a set speed in the other. I want to be able to replicate this ability and power the direction and speed from my Arduino if possible. I might even want to control speed in both directions. I may also look into updating to a 3/4hp motor at some point (10 to 75A), so I'd like to get a controller I could still use with that.

I'm pretty new to electronics, but I'm guessing I need some kind of H-bridge for this? All the ones I find seem to be for smaller motors. Is there something out there that someone can point me to? I'd be willing to build an H-bridge if I can get a good grasp on what components I need. Thanks.

Erdin

You need a full H-bridge.
You could build a H-bridge with power mosfets.
But also a number of mosfet H-bridge modules can handle that current.
You might have to figure out yourself how to connect them.

This one is too expensive, http://www.robotpower.com/products/osmc_info.html
And I can't find others right now.

AWOL

10 and 60 amps.

60 amps at 12V is more like 1hp. (1hp = 740W)
"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

uler3161

10 and 60 amps.

60 amps at 12V is more like 1hp. (1hp = 740W)

Thanks. The amperage values were what someone posted on a forum somewhere. 60A would be equivalent of running a 1/2hp on 6V wouldn't it? I know the existing motor controller has a 12V input, but maybe it's actually only allowing up to 6V to the motor.

afremont

My guess is the 60A is the locked rotor current + inrush current.
Experience, it's what you get when you were expecting something else.

uler3161