Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
Author Topic: [no longer relevant] Touch using CTE shield on DUE etc  (Read 8672 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 17
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok, my CTE shield has arrived two days ago. While I have not connected a TFT yet, I want to let you know that the on board SD card works well (have not done intensive testing, like speed, etc).

It works with both, the official SD library included in the IDE 1.5.2, as well as with the SdFat (beta20130207).

Pin is 53.
JP8 needs to be connected.


, dodgerts


It wasn't in the CTE shield it was in the back of the LCD.  It was a 2Gb Sandisc micro SD.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 436
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Now if I could find how to make touch work with a 32pin tft that would be great
Logged

Alamos, Sonora, Mexico
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 133
learning never stops.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just received my 5" 800X480 SSD1963 TFT from CT. It has a 40pin header.
I am using it on the 40 pin header of the CTE shield for DUE.
Going to try getting SDFat, Touch and all of the Demos working on it.

Peter

Logged

Quiero una vida simple en Mexico...nada mas.

Alamos, Sonora, Mexico
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 133
learning never stops.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK,
Found the source of my issues... I purchased the WRONG SSD1963 LCD panels.
Cold Tears Electronics offers the 5" & 7" SSD1963 800X480 LCDs in TWO versions... With Font IC and Without. Unfortunately, I have both of them without the IC, hence the demos show garbage for the text and bitmap portions. I've ordered the correct versions now...

However, with the CTE shield, I had great success with two others offered by Cold Tears Electronics:
3.5" 480X320 R61581 LCD Controller & ADS7843 compatible Touch Controller w/ Font IC
3.2" 320X240 SSD1298 LCD Controller &  ADS7843 compatible Touch Controller w/ Font IC

We used their modified versions of the Utouch & UTFT libraries (which probably precludes adopting everyone's high speed modifications they are developing for Hennings Libraries).

I found performance acceptable.  Touch Screen Worked. It's a little weird using a utility to load from the SDCard into the Built-In Flash...and then your code calls your images from the Flash by Number. That means you can't easily just stick new images on and SD Card and modify your sketch. Instead you have a finite number of images to work with. That's ok. My preference is the 480 as the visual quality is very good.

The other odd thing is for the 3.5" screen with a resolution of 480X320, the Touch Screen has a resolution of 509X264. For the 3.2" screen with a resolution of 320X240, the touch screen had the same resolution of 509X264. So in my code I will resolve the difference by scaling the data I receive from the touch controller to match my graphical coordinates:
Screen Res X = 480 - (Touch Res X * 0.9375)
Screen Res Y = (Touch Res Y * 1.2121)
Resolving it this way should help with deciding what object (slider, button, toggle) was manipulated by the user. Without re-inventing the wheel I'll need to see how some folks went about creating an object oriented approach.
 
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 04:12:39 pm by ODwyerPW » Logged

Quiero una vida simple en Mexico...nada mas.

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 436
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you not just solder on a font IC?
Logged

Alamos, Sonora, Mexico
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 133
learning never stops.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've already sent an email off to the folks asking them just that.
Logged

Quiero una vida simple en Mexico...nada mas.

Alamos, Sonora, Mexico
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 133
learning never stops.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Working further with the 3.2" and 3.5" CTE LCDS on the CTE Shields.... finding they are backwards, rotated and mirrored...
Daniel saw the same thing..and posted his findings on this other thread in the Displays section...

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,157068.msg1177939.html#new

The demos worked...
Then we went to develop our own stuff...and found the coordinates were broken it was plotting rectangles and text in the opposite corner.  the demo looked good because I had the displays rotated 180 deg...

I will no longer comment on these two items here...but put the comments in Daniel's very specific thread.
Logged

Quiero una vida simple en Mexico...nada mas.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 17
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I seem to have the same problem. My 5" TFT has not arrived yet, but I already checked the description and I ordered the one without IC. Soldering it myself should not be a problem. What I get from the schematics is that the display with font ic uses a SST25VF016.

However, I do not understand the different flavors of the SST25VF016 yet. Mostly I find the SST25VF016B for example and I do not understand what the B stands for.
Also the CTE description states "On board 64Mbit SPI Flash" while the SST25VF016 is only 16Mbit.

Can anyone comment on that?


Can you not just solder on a font IC?
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 436
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I thought that the SST25VF016 was 16Mbit !

Just done a quick google and it seems so.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 17
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I thought that the SST25VF016 was 16Mbit !

Just done a quick google and it seems so.

Yes it is. My point is that the CTE descriptions says the display has a 64Mbit flash ic. Consequently it cannot be the SST25VF016, but the schematics say it is.
Could anyone who has the TFT with font ic, please be so kind and check which chip is soldered on it?
Logged

Maumee, OH, USA
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The other odd thing is for the 3.5" screen with a resolution of 480X320, the Touch Screen has a resolution of 509X264. For the 3.2" screen with a resolution of 320X240, the touch screen had the same resolution of 509X264. So in my code I will resolve the difference by scaling the data I receive from the touch controller to match my graphical coordinates:
Screen Res X = 480 - (Touch Res X * 0.9375)
Screen Res Y = (Touch Res Y * 1.2121)
Resolving it this way should help with deciding what object (slider, button, toggle) was manipulated by the user. Without re-inventing the wheel I'll need to see how some folks went about creating an object oriented approach.


Yeah, found on my CTE 3.5 / UTouchCD.h is not the correct callibration, calibration numbers are not correct for this display. Rather than fix the arcaine method of doing the cal, I just hard coded it to get it right.


UTouch.cpp


void UTouch::InitTouch(byte orientation)
{
   orient= orientation;         // BMac hard coding for CTE 3.5 480 x 320 display
   _default_orientation= 0;               //CAL_S>>31;
   touch_x_left= 93;                //(CAL_X>>14) & 0x3FFF;
   touch_x_right= 3960;               //CAL_X & 0x3FFF;
   touch_y_top= 3792;               //(CAL_Y>>14) & 0x3FFF;
   touch_y_bottom= 262;               //CAL_Y & 0x3FFF;
   disp_x_size= 320;    // (480)       (CAL_S>>12) & 0x0FFF;
   disp_y_size= 480;    // (320)        CAL_S & 0x0FFF;
   prec= 10;

BMac
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 436
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I still can't get the touch to work at all other than detect that a touch event has occurred.  It knows that the user has touched the screen but gives the wrong result each time, just saying the same thing.  Not sure I have the correct pin outs for touch using the CTE shield with the 32 pin connection. 
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 3
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

working utft touch libraly is orginal utouch libraly you can download from its website (developer's page).
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 436
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

working utft touch libraly is orginal utouch libraly you can download from its website (developer's page).

Well my THIRD 7" touch screen arrived this morning.  Every time I ordered a 40pin version but

1) one sent was 32pin which I could use as an LCD and use the micro SD but not touch - so I got a refund and bought....
2) received the 2nd one which basically didn't do anything - so got a 50% refund and bought.....
3) received the 3rd one which looked identical to the 2nd one but it had a second 0 ohm SMD resistor fitted as a link labeled (Always on)

and......

Number 3 works perfectly so I soldered a 0ohm resistor across always on on number 2 and that works perfectly now too.
Logged

Alamos, Sonora, Mexico
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 133
learning never stops.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Cowaski,
make sure to have a look at the link below.  Apparantely new libraries are available from CTE....and a few users have derived parameters that take care of the reversing thing and a few other issues..

Note: I have now corrected the mirror issue in these drivers. I simply copied a set of parameters that I knew would display in the correct orientation  To the correct location in the " UTFT.cpp " file. In my case, the " SSD1963_800_CTE7 "section at line 2331. These parameters are for the 7" CTE display. So far everything displays and functions correctly.

In my case the parameters were obtained from a set of CTE drivers offered from " ageurtse ", a member of this form, thank you for your assistance.

I hope this will help someone else.

promacjoe

I haven't verified any of this... I'm still waiting for my Font ICs, so that I can solder them on my 5" and 7" versions... then I will resume testing of both of these LCDs.
Logged

Quiero una vida simple en Mexico...nada mas.

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
Jump to: