Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: multiplier  (Read 2609 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am quite unsure how i can use the arduino to control a high-voltage supply controlling an electro-optic lens. The lens has to have a change in voltage to correct the focus and i want to know if theres a way to get arduino to apply changes in steps with a loop setup?
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 02:15:14 pm by domo » Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 601
Posts: 48569
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
and i want to know if theres a way to get arduino to apply changes in steps with a loop setup?
There is, as long as your definition of "high voltage" is 0 to 5V.

If not, you might post a link to this mysterious device, over in Project Guidance. You don't have a Programming question.
Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, it's possible to use an inverter to generate the high voltage, and control the inverter with the Arduino. What range of voltage is required, and at what current?
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, it's possible to use an inverter to generate the high voltage, and control the inverter with the Arduino. What range of voltage is required, and at what current?

HV mutiplier goes up to 5kV.

project is to be able to change the voltage supply to a electro-optic lens to focus on images.

would a potentiometer work?
Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, so you already have a "HV multiplier" that can generate 5kV. Can you provide some more information about it, so that we can see whether it could be controlled from an Arduino?
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am trying to control the voltage being applied to the lens.
I have a HV multiplier (emco) and im trying to see if i can use a digital potentiometer or some other equipment that arduino would be able to use to control the output voltage to the lens.

Would it be easier to post a block diagram?
Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, what would make it easier would be if you posted a link to the datasheet or other information about the Emco high voltage power supply. Is it one of these http://www.emcohighvoltage.com/proportional-power-supply.php, if so, which exact model?
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 02:15:35 pm by domo » Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, that helps.

1. Is it the 5V input model, or one of the others?

2. Is it being operated close to full load, or nearer to no-load? That affects the maximum input voltage we need to provide.

3. What will be the power supply for the system? (I'm interested in whether we have a couple more volts available than the input to the emco device needs.)

4. To what resolution do you need to set the output voltage?
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, that helps.

1. Is it the 5V input model, or one of the others?

2. Is it being operated close to full load, or nearer to no-load? That affects the maximum input voltage we need to provide.

3. What will be the power supply for the system? (I'm interested in whether we have a couple more volts available than the input to the emco device needs.)

4. To what resolution do you need to set the output voltage?

When you mean 5V input, do you mean voltage supplied from the arduino?

I have a 10kV generator and a normal 10V generator too.

Havent gotten as far as to decide resolution, a competent resolution should be fine to start off i assume.
Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

When you mean 5V input, do you mean voltage supplied from the arduino?

No, I mean the input to the HV power supply. The Q50 is available in versions for 5V, 12V, 15V and 24V input. Have you chosen a particular model in the series, or is it flexible?

I have a 10kV generator and a normal 10V generator too.

What I am asking is, what power supply do you intend to use to power the emco? The Arduino's 5V supply, or maybe some other power supply (such as your 10V power supply) which you may also be using to power the Arduino?

Havent gotten as far as to decide resolution, a competent resolution should be fine to start off i assume.

The obvious choices are 8 bit resolution (steps of about 20V), 10-bit resolution (steps of about 5V), or 11-bit resolution (steps of about 2.5V). Some associated solutions are:

8-bit: PWM output pin + smoothing RC network + possible op amp + emitter follower. May need to increase the PWM frequency to get the desired response time.

10-bit: 12-bit external DAC + possible op amp + emitter follower.

11-bit: 12-bit external DAC + possible op amp + emitter follower + 12-bit external ADC.

The "possible op amp" would be needed unless you are using the 5V version and it is lightly loaded.
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The input is variable, so it can be used via arduino or the external supply. Can you give me an example of an RC network model please? Also, are you referring to the actual setup of the system? Am I to assume that an RC network will be connected to an emitter and operational amplifier?

Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you give me an example of an RC network model please? Also, are you referring to the actual setup of the system? Am I to assume that an RC network will be connected to an emitter and operational amplifier?

I can't and won't answer that until you answer my earlier question.
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 20
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, I mean the input to the HV power supply. The Q50 is available in versions for 5V, 12V, 15V and 24V input. Have you chosen a particular model in the series, or is it flexible?



What I am asking is, what power supply do you intend to use to power the emco? The Arduino's 5V supply, or maybe some other power supply (such as your 10V power supply) which you may also be using to power the Arduino?

Currently we are running on the Arduino's 5V.
We do have an external power supply that we have not intended to use yet as there were issues with the board being unstable or overheating.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 02:16:16 pm by domo » Logged

United Kingdom
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 224
Posts: 6593
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Here is a schematic for a possible solution. Since you still haven't said, I've assumed you are using the 5V version of the Q50 and that 8-bit resolution is sufficient. You will need to increase the PWM frequency if you want the settling time to be lower than a few seconds.


* Scan 150.JPG (105.56 KB, 1653x1165 - viewed 38 times.)
Logged

Formal verification of safety-critical software, software development, and electronic design and prototyping. See http://www.eschertech.com. Please do not ask for unpaid help via PM, use the forum.

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: