Go Down

Topic: Code libraries & gibberish - SHARP LM5Q32 lcd assistance needed. (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Dirka

Hello everyone

I'm new to coding, well a bit rusty so just starting from scratch again. I've managed to salvage 3 Sharp LM5Q32 5" displays from my work from redundant devices. My first thing I want to do is to test whether these units still work so I was hoping to just color in the LCD one color to confirm this.

The display has a parallel interface that operates from 5V logic. It's 240 line with 320 pixels per line with each pixal being RGB, so 960 inputs per line. It's got a 24V connection on the 20pin connector as well as on the back light tube. Then there is a 5V input on the 20 pin connector to power the display driver on the LCD itself. 5 off the 20 pins are used for grounding.

It's got a "scan stat-up signal - YD" input to move to a new line once a line is completed (Must receive a high pulse of 5V for a min. time of 100 ns)
It's got a "input latch signal - LP" input to signal when the line have been completed (Must receive a high pulse of 5V for a min. time of 100 ns)
It's got a "data input clock signal - XCK" to signal when the parallel data have been relayed successfully and that you can move on to the next byte of data. (Must receive a high pulse of 5V for a min. time of 35 ns)
It's got a "display control signal - DISP" which can be used in conjunction with a power switch, still 5V in to trigger the display on or off.

With 960 inputs per line it means that XCK must be clocked 120 times i.e. 960 / 8 = 120.

I was hoping to be able to use Lady Yada's library (http://www.ladyada.net/products/tfttouchbreakout/) but it is all a bit gibberish to me so I was hoping that someone would be able to tell me whether I will be able to use it or not? The difference I've noted is that I don't see a move to new line command or line finished command or something along that line? Any insight will be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone