Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Complete novice newbie that need help  (Read 225 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi All Ive just joined, I didnt even know that Arduion existed untill someone told me to try it instead of a couple of 555 chips. I can solder and do know what 90% of electronic components do but as for programming Ive got no clue so Im here to see if you guys can help me out.
I have got here oil soaked wick that has nichrome wire wrapped round it, the idea is to heat the wick just enough for the oil to smoke.
What I need is some sort of control unit that will have a switch off time after 5 mins and when its on a 90% duty cycle, I know the heater wire will have to have a relay as it will draw aprox 12amp at warm up and then drop down to 7 amps, this will all be run on a 12 volt supply
Now the main question, is this possible with Arduino and if so where do I start

I hope I have posted in the correct section, if not sorry and please move me

Thanks in advance

« Last Edit: March 21, 2013, 03:07:12 pm by somkey » Logged

Edison Member
View Profile

In either case, you'll need a relay or a MOSFET (or something) to handle the voltage & current.    A mechanical relay probably isn't a good idea, assuming that your 95% duty-cycle switches rapidly.  A mechanical relay will also generally need a transistor or MOSFET to supply the coil current.   On the other hand, solid state relays are very easy to use.   Just make sure to get a solid-state relay rated for DC (assuming your heating element is running off DC) and also rated for 12 amps or more.   A machanical relay will work with AC or DC, but solid state relays are made specifically for one or the other.

Doing it in software is probably eaiser than hardware (555s) and it's a LOT easier to experiment with different timer settings, but a programmable microcontroller and software/firmware is actually overkill.