Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Upgrade Programmers Firmware  (Read 3148 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Dear reader,

i have bought two [AVRisp or USBasp] programmers, so i can program my atiny45 with the arduino IDE.
now i have the problem i have to upgrade the firmware of the programmer.

the story:
i bought 2 of these programmers: Link. the reason why i bought two was because i read in a review that the firmware had to be upgraded.
the way to upgrade one's firmware is to have another programer to program the firmware of the other programmer. there are no datasheets, electrical circuit, etc.. (or they are hard to find)

once i received them it was a real struggle getting the correct driver running. i happend to found the correct drive, but it wouldn't instal through device manager.
lucky me found an installer wich did some magic for me and installed the driver (wich i found 4 hours before) sucsessfull!

once i take a look on my adapter i notice it says AVRISP while my windoes 7 64bits tells my it is conected under the name USBasp. (anyone an idea about this?)
now when i open my arduino IDE and try to upload the BLINK example to my atiny45 (ofcource i changed pin for the led) my compiler is telling me the following: (yes i had selected: atiny45 1Mhz + USBasp)
Code:
Binaire sketch-grootte: 824 bytes (van een 4.096-byte maximum)
avrdude: Warning: Found USB device "USBasp" with old VID/PID! Please update firmware of USBasp!
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.

Now how do i upgrade one firmware with the other programmer? how do i hook them up (just connect them with the isp cable)?
do i need to solder something? i read something about Jumper 2 needed to be set or something (if this is crucial info ill look for the file and link to it)?

if any questions, please feel free to ask.

nick
EDIT: see the files i uploaded. these are the files containing the correct driver installer. and i geus the firmware is within this file

* Driver Firmware.zip (1212.92 KB - downloaded 44 times.)
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 12:22:55 pm by nickn4 » Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

Massachusetts, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 201
Posts: 8647
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The USBasp should have a jumper position that connects the Reset line of the ICSP header to the Reset pin.  This allows the ICSP cable connector to be used as an ICSP header to update the firmware in the USBasp using another ICSP programmer.
Logged

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I found 2 'silvery-solder-spots' (dont know their name) realy close together and they are marked with: "JP3" are these the Jumper positions?
based on this image i concluded that this "JP3" was about 4mm away of the VCC pin of the ISP connector

are ICSP and ISP the same? and why is "AVRisp" printed on my adapter and on my windows it says "USBasp".
anyway, what program do i use to upload the firmware after i connected the reset jumper from one adapter to the ISP header?

nick
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 06:49:42 pm by nickn4 » Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well, i've been away fore awhile now and still stuck on the exact same situation as before,
i have made some photo's, ill post them, and i would like some awnsers on mine questions of mine previous post as well smiley-wink



* naamloos (foto)0046.jpg (1121.67 KB, 2560x1920 - viewed 74 times.)

* naamloos (foto)0047.jpg (1194.29 KB, 2560x1920 - viewed 52 times.)

* naamloos (foto)0053.jpg (814.52 KB, 2560x1920 - viewed 42 times.)

* naamloos (foto)0057.jpg (722.29 KB, 2560x1920 - viewed 27 times.)
Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i have searched on youtube for about two hours now, it seems really hard to find some video where someone is upgrading the firware of an usbasp programmer using an other of the same programmer.

@johnwasser
it seemed you have enough experince to help me out here smiley-wink

i am trying not to be impatience, but it feels the procedure to solve this problem it really simple if you know how to do it.. hehe  smiley-roll-blue

nick

PS: actuly this was some kind of bump-post.
if someone can just help me understand some other basic problems i am having (mentioned above) to keep
the the this topic alive i wont need to bump everytime while still solving some smaller problems  smiley-mr-green
Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

Denmark
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1048
Happy Hobbyist
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

There was a thread about this not long ago

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,149668.0.html
Logged

Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

thank you very much, i will look into it. i must have mist it because i was away for some time.
if i stumble upon any trouble i'll let you you know in this topic.

nick
Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

vermont
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 8
Posts: 298
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

something wrong here. there is absolutely no need to upgrade firmware for tiny45. the oldest versions and the newest versions support that chip fine. for some the moto is "if it aint broke... fix it til it is".
Logged

Wahiawa, Hawaii
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 29
Posts: 582
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you trace where Pin-5 on the 10-pin header is going to on the USBasp board?  Is it going to one of the pads on "R3"?

A lot of these programmers use resistor pads for jumpering the reset from the 10-pin header to the reset on the ATmega8 chip.

You can upgrade one with the other.  Just connect the 10-pin headers back-to-back with the two programmers.  The target programmer should be jumpered with the reset.  The programming one will connect normally to USB.  Then use avrdude to program.

Note:  They use the term AVRISP as a generic name for ISP programming AVR chips.  You have a USBasp programmer, which shows up under Windows.
Logged

Holland
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 93
Troubles are there to be solved!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@john1993: well, it is just as you say: something is wrong here.. everywhere i look, there is people mentioning the need of firmware upgrade, so it is very likely to suggest this is the cause of the problem.

@hiduino:
i have tracked the trace of pin 5 of the icsp, i am very sure that it won't go to the r3 pads. following the trace will end at the center of the board: the track ends at a hole witch is located underneath the atmega8 chip.
i have made some closeup pictures with an magnifier, and painted the track with my software so it is easier for you to find. you can find both original as painted pictures in this post

Quote
A lot of these programmers use resistor pads for jumpering the reset from the 10-pin header to the reset on the ATmega8 chip.
once i flip the board multiple times i notice that the track of jp3 (see earlier photos) on the back of the board will end up at an hole, this hole is located realy close to the r3 pads on the other side, i am not sure, but i think these are conected, it is hard to see. if this is interesting ill look further into it, just need some advice first hehe

Quote
Note:  They use the term AVRISP as a generic name for ISP programming AVR chips.  You have a USBasp programmer, which shows up under Windows.
this is much more clear now. thanks

Quote
You can upgrade one with the other.  Just connect the 10-pin headers back-to-back with the two programmers.  The target programmer should be jumpered with the reset.  The programming one will connect normally to USB.  Then use avrdude to program.
yes, just as i thought. so i need to find out how to set these jumperes for the reset. and if i cannot find the pads, cant i not just hook up a wire directly to the atmega8 chip's pins?

note: i am confused about the start of the trace from pin5. that is because the trace is 'invisable' for a short distance where the white paint is covering the trace  smiley-sad

nick


* original pin5 closeup.jpg (1348.75 KB, 2560x1920 - viewed 52 times.)

* edited pin5 closeup.jpg (319.44 KB, 1400x1050 - viewed 40 times.)
Logged

humankind cannot obtain anything without
sacrificing something of equal value.

Wahiawa, Hawaii
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 29
Posts: 582
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is one of the pad from JP3 on the back going to the 4th pin down from the dot on the chip?  The 4th pin down (pin-29, couning couter clock-wise from the dot) is reset on the ATmega8.  If so then you probably need to short these pads.
Otherwise it may be the R3 pads.

You can just try testing shorting either the JP3 or R3 pads.  One of them should make it respond to avrdude and read the fuse bits correctly.

Code:
avrdude -c usbasp -p m8 -v

Logged

Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 44
Posts: 2452
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Before updating the firmware I'd be verifying the pinout of your device. Your original error is telling you that it cannot communicate with the chip ("avrdude: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer.") and I'll bet money it's because you have your USBAsp pins connected to the wrong pins on the ATTiny.

Regarding the "avrdude: Warning: Found USB device "USBasp" with old VID/PID! Please update firmware of USBasp!", I understand that this had something to do with the original developer of the USBasp using an inappropriate ID (the vendor ID of another vendor). It's not important at all. Unless you're a lawyer.

The "avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update." always occurs on mine as well but it has never caused any issues.

Logged

alabama
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 183
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I always have to burn the correct speed into new ATTinys by selecting "burn bootloader" under Tools.
Doesn't really burn a bootloader, just sets the correct fuse bits.
TomJ
Logged

Einstein once said you don't really understand anything until you can explain it to your Grandmother

Wahiawa, Hawaii
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 29
Posts: 582
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The "avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update." always occurs on mine as well but it has never caused any issues.

Yes, for the most part you can ignore this message.  However, this USBasp firmware version does not support manual sck clock selection with the avrdude -B option.  Which is needed if your AVR is running very slow at 128KHz internal clock.  If the AVR chip is running this slow then you need to slow down the sck clock by using avrdude -B250 option.  Otherwise you get the same type of error "target doesn't answer".

Only newer USBasp firmware from 2009 or 2011 supports the avrdude -B option.  So it's worth a try to update the firmware to see if the slow sck clock option will work for the m2560.  Upgrading firmware is not difficult but you do need another programmer to do it with.


Logged

vermont
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 8
Posts: 298
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

out of literally hundreds of usbasp from china used with dozens of different part numbers (including t45) ive yet to find the need to upgrade firmware. unlikely op is getting parts w/128khz clk. i suspect other issues. chagrin seems to have a grip on the situation.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: