Go Down

Topic: IR range/proximity detector not working as expected (Read 4 times) previous topic - next topic

adrian_h

Thanks, but I have taken that into account.  I even removed the sensor circuit and connected A1 directly to the ground and I get this:

Sgl = 835, 1023, Sum = 403312, 1022992, Avg = 280.47, 711.40, Dif = -430.93

and when I connect it to Vcc:

Sgl = 0, 0, Sum = 29, 109, Avg = 0.02, 0.08, Dif = -0.06

Notice that the on value is lower than that of the off value?

This makes no sense.
I'm a programmer dammit, not an engineer! :D
Like this post?  Please give me some karma for it.  Thanks! :)

adrian_h

Yeah, I think I have found the problem.  The LEDs are pulling too much current and are causing other things (i.e. the ADC) to fail.  I'm going to have to have a separate current source to get them to be as bright as I want them (between 100-200mA if not more).  Thing is, how do I wire one up using a transistor as a switch who's base is controlled by the Arduino and uses an external battery as a current source?  They would require a common ground right?  Would I just connect the negative terminal of the battery to a ground pin of the Arduino while using the USB as the primary power source?  And then when I eventually make this a self contained unit, can I draw off the battery directly?

Grumpy_Mike

michinyon

LED's don't really have "resistance".  They have a quite non-linear voltage vs current characteristic.

To run them in parallel,  you need a separate means of current regulation ( a constant current source,  or a resistor )
for each one.

You can also connect them in series if you have a high enough voltage source,   and then you only need one
means of current control.

adrian_h

LED's don't really have "resistance".  They have a quite non-linear voltage vs current characteristic.

To run them in parallel,  you need a separate means of current regulation ( a constant current source,  or a resistor )
for each one.