Go Down

Topic: In over my head - I may need to pay someone (here?!) to help... (Read 406 times) previous topic - next topic

samuelsons_jon

Before I start I'd just like to say that I'm not an idiot, so please keep reading!

I'm a mechanical engineer by training, and now run a small business (making lemonade of all things).  I *adore* how Arduino/Pi and the like are democratising 'industrial' controls for the masses.  I have an arduino, I have a pi.  I also have a small business, a wife and two (very small) children and I simply can't teach myself what I need to know - goodness knows I've tried.  I get to the end of a tutorial project and my fatigued brain simply doesn't remember what I did at the beginning, or why =( !

So, in my industry everything is VERY expensive.  My goal is to create a system, then open-source it to the masses eventually.  But I'm stuck with my dunce brain, a rather good idea and no way of getting it out there.  Make something for a £200 that could be scaleable, could be automated etc., and get people in to what I'm doing that are forced out of it by the costs.  I think home-brewers would really love it too!

I'm at the point of trying to find someone who can write code for Arduino, help me spec the components (although I think I have them all) and basically assist me in getting somewhere.  The list of components is actually very small - a potentiometer, a sensor and a pump.  I've worked out all the variables that need to be set up for the code (I'm sure I've got them wrong of course - a little knowledge is a dangerous thing!), I know the points I need to set up error codes, and the feedback I need to put in to the system.  But I'm dumb on the coding front.