Go Down

Topic: Alarm System Sending SMTP and Text Messages (using ESP8266) (Read 3762 times) previous topic - next topic

deki

That did it, it compiles just fine. Tried all example files and the ones in this forum post and they all take now. I even tried my Nano and it compiles also. Now to get on with the rest of the project. I see there are 6 downloads already so maybe you helped others out as well.
Thanks for your patience.

DonEduardo

Glad the mystery is solved!

I'd still recommend at some point you use my version (ESP8266UNO) that allows you to connect the ESP8266 with a softwareserial port so you don't have to keep plugging and unplugging everything when going from programming to live to debug. You can find the most updated version in connection with my ESP8266 Sprinkler Project

It's my first attempt at modifying/creating a library so I've probably not done some things right but it's been working well for my needs.

Also lookout for the gotchas that I mentioned earlier when using the Itead library.

jagojon3

Thanks for this! I have some parts ordered and will be trying this out on my older alarm system as well. A few questions:

1. I'll be using an Arduino Pro Mini clone. Should I set it as an Uno or Mega in the program?
2. I see that I have to set my SSID name and password in both the program and the ESP8266 uartwifi.h library, but also have to set the "erncryption" parameter in the uartwifi.h library, where do I find that?
3. I want to use this with my Gmail account. What IP address do I use? I see you are using your smtp address from Comcast
4. Are there any other changes I have missed that I need to make to customize the program or uartwifi.h library for my setup?

DonEduardo

Hey, good questions. I'll try to answer:

1) For this library the Pro Mini is the same as an UNO, so that's how you'd configure the .h file. But if you use any of my versions that's already configured for you.