Go Down

Topic: Arduino Motor Shield with 6 DC motors (Read 692 times) previous topic - next topic

Hi,

I am about to start my first Arduino-based project. I have used Lego Mindstorms NXT with TETRIX, additional sensors and the programming language ROBOTC for years, however, I am completely new to electronics as well as Arduino.

To begin with, I want to build a robot only some wider and longer than the Arduino Uno R3, which I will be using. The robot needs to have 6 wheels/motors (3 motors on each side), if possible, and one of the motors on each side needs to have an encoder. I am planning to use the official Arduino Motor Shield found on the Arduino site.

Since I am completely new to electronics I find it hard to know what is possible or impossible, although I have done some research on the internet. I see that the board supports maximum 4A (2A per channel) and operates between 5V and 12V. So,

- Since I need 3 motors on one side operating synchronously and 3 motors on the other side operating synchronously, how should I connect each side-pair of motors? I guess they should be connected in parallel?

- What are my limitations of choice of motors, if I need 6 motors on one board? Would six of these motors (http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/2364) work, since their total stall-current would be 4,2A? (and does this even matter, or does it has to do with something completely else?)

- What (type of) batteries should I be looking for? They should be rechargeable. I also believe I will need one battery for the Arduino Uno and the Motor Shield, and another battery for the motors?

- What (electrical) components will I need? On-off switches, resistors, some sort of connectors etc.? I might be able to figure this out myself, I am just afraid to burn something or fry any circuits before I even get started!