Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Beginner needing help with code!  (Read 478 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

As stated in the topic, I am a beginner to arduino.  Recently I've been working on a private project to construct an ambient weather light using the arduino.  Unfortunately, there are still a couple things I am stuck on and I need it done by Wednesday.  Explaining my own incompetence aside, I obviously need some help.

The hardware is simple enough, so I won't get into that, and I know there are some answers out there, but as a beginner every tutorial and answer I have found was one I just can't wrap my head around as I don't have enough experience to understand everything they are referring to, so when answering it is not required but I'll still ask for your patience and would be eternally grateful if you could simplify your answer to something a beginner can understand and especially if you could endure my questions.  Also, if my code seems painfully messy I apologize as I have not been working with this language for very long.

Anyway, I have two questions:

First, how do you get the arduino to read incoming information as a string rather than individual characters.  I was testing my RGB LED's response to the logic statements using the serial port, however I have yet to figure out how I can get it to read '72' instead of '7' '2'.

Here's my current code for reference (which I'll admit I have been using multiple resources to "Frankenstein" this together) :
Code:

//Ethernet Settings//

//#include <SPI.h>
//#include <Ethernet.h>
//#include <TextFinder.h>

//Change to match current computer//

//byte mac[] = { 0x00, 0xAA, 0xBB, 0xCC, 0xDE, 0x01 };
//IPAddress ip(192, 168, 10, 00);
//IPAddress server(000, 000, 000, 000);

//Initializing the Ethernet Client Library//

//Client client;

//boolean requested;
//long lastAttemptTime = 0;

//Back To Normal//

const int redPin = 9;   
const int grnPin = 10; 
const int bluPin = 11;