Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Complete beginner, help for project appreciated  (Read 630 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello everyone,

I am currently a student at a university in Germany. In the context of my Electrical Circuits course for my bachelor in Mobility and Logistics, i was assigned a group project using the Arduino Uno board.Our idea for this project was to construct  a device that recognizes certain colors by adding sensors to the Arduino board. With these additions, it should be possible to build up this device at a conveyor belt and detect various  packages with colored stickers on them. When the colored package reaches the sensor, either a specific sound will be played that references the color, or a text output appears on a connected computer, so that the content of the package is known. These colours could for instance represent certain products that the company sells and our device could detect which products leave a warehouse or a production facility.

We barely have any experience programming or using Arduino. Of course we don't expect the people helping us in this forum to serve us a finished project on a silver plate but what we would like to have are suggestions and tips. For example, Is this kind of project possible in the first place? If it is ,what kind of sensor do we need and where do we get it from? Is this project too difficult for beginners?

Because we barely know anything, any kind of suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Greetings,
Andre Angenendt

The Netherlands
Edison Member
View Profile

Hi Andre, willkommen.

This project doesn't sound too complicated for an Arduino.
There's modules available that do color recognition, so that shouldn't be too difficult.
Communication is no problem so sending your result to a remote unit is possible, and of course you can also play some sounds.