Go Down

Topic: RS485 with attiny45/85 [SOLVED] (Read 9162 times) previous topic - next topic

sancho_sk

Jul 26, 2013, 08:09 am Last Edit: Aug 09, 2013, 04:25 pm by sancho_sk Reason: 1
Hello, everyone.
First of all, I'd like to point out that I did my research and I can't find relevant info, therefore I ask.

I'd like to create a simple project with arduino communicating over 50-70meters, sending or receiving simple 8bit values. It should operate remote relays, read counters, etc.
From what I found, I assume, the best way for such long-range communication is RS485 protocol (I have some experience with i2c, but it's not capable of such long-range transmits).
I'd like to use chip similar to MAX485.
I found tons of examples on how to work with Arduino and Max485. However, as all of the slave devices in my case will only need 1-bit output/input, I'd like to utilize ATtiny, either 45 or 85 (depending on the final code size).
It would also be lovely if I can utilize the internal 8MHz oscilator on the tiny, limiting the number of parts for each slave.
However, I am unable to find any examples of such design (only ATtiny2313).
Is it even possible to utilize tiny45 for such communication?
I'd like to point out that I do not care about the communication speed - I need only to transmit few bytes per second (like 10-12 bytes, nothing more).
Thanks in advance for any guidance/advices.

Nick Gammon

http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11428

Is it even possible to utilize tiny45 for such communication?

I don't see why not. RS485 is an electrical protocol. It doesn't care what device is at the end of it. If you can send async serial from a Tiny45 you should be able to use it.
Please post technical questions on the forum, not by personal message. Thanks!

More info:
http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

sancho_sk

Thanks for the hint. I am more-or-less looking for someone with practical experience with such setup :)

JuanB

Dear sancho_sk,