Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Programming - Where do I start?  (Read 1465 times)
Adelaide, South Australia
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

First time poster here. Before I fire of my questions, just a brief about me. I am a retired electronics engineer of 40 years. Never had the need to get involved in programming so from that perspective a novice. Now have plenty of time on my hands and looking to fill some off that time.

I have been researching the Arduino platform and impressed with the concept. What I would like find is what is the defining programming reference how to manual? A manual that takes you from ground zero and explains programming concept, language, syntax, examples etc etc. would appreciate any guidance other users who have gone before to point me in the right direction.

Be interested in open comments on wether the Arduino is the best platform for a beginner? Is there other option I should be looking at before going Arduino? Are there any alternative platforms that might make more sense for someone like me to ease me into programming....PIC, Atmel ???

Regards,

Fleetz

Texas
Edison Member
View Profile

I think your choice of the arduino to be the best for a beginner.
I don't know of a book. Since the internet/google, I have pretty much stopped reading paper.
Browse through the arduino web site (lots of info in here).
Use the example programs in the IDE.

Have you got an arduino board yet, and the IDE? Have you tried the blink example?

There are a few of us old retired guys on here. I will turn 65 in 3 months.

If you have questions, we are here to give advice. Welcome!

Good luck, Jack

View Profile

Hi Jack,

Thanks for the reply. Yes there is a plethora of info on the web ...probably too much for a beginner!  smiley-eek  I suppose what I was looking for is that must read that give you the aha moments...I will keep digging.