Go Down

Topic: MyArduinoLight (Programming Arduino in Pure C from Xcode) (Read 2393 times) previous topic - next topic

I got my first Arduino a month ago (an Uno) and have been playing with it every day since, including making a light-up hat from a Lilypad and putting together a Mintduino (breadboard Arduino clone) and a Prototino (soldered version).

In my day job I'm a film producer, but from 1992-1998, I was a computer game designer and programmer working in San Francisco.  More recently I've done some hobby iPhone programming.

I love the Arduino but was not crazy about the IDE.  I wanted to be able to write and compile programs from Xcode 4.3, and at the same time understand exactly how all the Arduino functions worked and re-build and link them individually.  That allows me to keep my programs as small and fast as possible.

Building on the digitalWriteFast and digitalReadFast macros (and the ATmega328 data sheet and many online tutorials for AVR-LibC), I created a single C file called MyArduinoLight which contains all of the Arduino library functions I use.  Functions are only linked in as needed, so a simple blinking LEDs is less than 200 bytes of code, as opposed to 1K with the Arudino's built-in overhead.  The functions I have so far are: pinMode, digitalWrite, digitalRead (which are all single assembly-line macros whenever the pin is known at compile time); initTimers (for PWM), analogWrite, stopAnalogWrite; analogRead, readAVCC (to determine ADC's reference voltage); mills, micros, delay, delayMicroseconds (which just macro to AVR-LibC's _delay_ms and _delay_us if not using the Timer interrupts); EnableInt0, EnableInt1, DisableInt0, DisableInt1 (for external interrupts); shiftInMSB, shiftInLSB, shiftOutMSB, shiftOutLSB; serialBegin, serialWriteChar, serialReadChar, serialWriteString, serialWriteNumber.  (I especially wanted a much smaller serial library that only compiled in for DEBUG builds.)