Go Down

Topic: Arduino Uno as Amplifier and Speaker protection (Read 5745 times) previous topic - next topic

brlmat

Hello everyone!

I am extremely new to this topic. I have never had an arduino. My only coding experience is Pascal. I am coding in that @ school.

I am building a 250w stereo amplifier and i need some guidance regarding the protections. The main power button will switch both the amplifier and the arduino protection module on at the same time.

What i want to control with arduino:

- Power transformer softstart. Pretty much a relay (Relay1) should be switched on after ~ 1 sec after power on;
- Short circuit protection. This will be Relay2 which will switch off if current sensed on a current sensing resistor goes over a value using a comparator (Logic protection. The auxiliary circuit will pull the Sense_pin1  to ground in case of over current; else it's pulled to 5v) + LED1 flash @ 15Hz. This will not recover only after complete amplifier power off.
- Power on mute. Relay2 will only switch on after 5 sec after power on. + LED1 flash @ 1Hz during muting period.
- DC protection. If the auxiliary circuit detects DC in speaker wires then it will pull Sense_pin2 up to ground; else 5v. If there's DC in speaker wires then Relay2 will switch off. + LED1 flash @ 10Hz. This will reset if Sense_pin2 is pulled back to 5v.
- Over temperature protection. This will be done using a thermistor. Analog input. Sense_pin4 to ground at 0*C; to 5V at 70*C. Temperature goes up, Sense_pin4 goes higher. At 4v across Sense_pin4 the arduino should flash LED2 at 0.5Hz indicating high temp. At 5 v across Sense_pin4, Relay2 will turn off. This will reset when Sense_pin4 goes under 3,5v. When the circuit is in over temperature protection the LED2 should stay on.